Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made this yesterday for a small gathering. The only change I made was to use canned pineapple and the juice from the can. Everyone loved it and had seconds so it was obviously a hit. Served it with lite Coolwhip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Yummy and simple..... Only changed two things. I used 8-inch cake pan, took about the same amount of time, just start watching it around 25mins. Then I broiled it for a bit like another reviewer suggested, it makes the topping less goo-like. :D Have Fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTart<3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This cake came out perfectly! I did admittedly substitute milk for the 1/2 cup of pineapple juice that went into the cake batter as I could not get a cup of juice out of the pineapple I cut. I also finely chopped about 2 cups of pineapple and put half the pieces on the bottom of the pan with the large slices of pineapple and then sprinkled the rest on top of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I'd never made pineapple upside down cake before so I had no idea what to expect. I used canned pineapple with the juice from it, and it was absolutely delicious. The cake was nice and moist, and I will definitely be making it again. I thought separating the eggs to beat separately would be a hassle, but the whole process was not time consuming at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganigans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I altered the recipe: 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 or less white sugar, 1/2 cup butter, canned pineapple slices, the water (A little more than 3/4 cup as desired) in my canned pineapples as the pineapple juice, and only as much pineapple it took to cover my pan (a lot less than 1 whole pineapple), 375 degrees- until done. Remember to rotate the pan every now and then to prevent burning. The cake turned out GREAT. I don't know why some people said their cake turned out dry...It's a Pineapple Upsidedown Cake!!!...Geez, it's not supposed to be moist, like your regular cake!!!....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gitu
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This was amazing! I used tinned pineapples cause that's all I had at home so I reduced the sugar a bit, it was really tasty. The caramel base with the pineapple and the butter cake was so so good. It got over very soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gitu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I don't mind going through a little extra trouble for a great dessert bit this was so not worth the effort. The end product was a small, dense cake with the texture almost of a biscuit. The separation and subsequent beating of egg white and yolk was a lot of effort for a mediocre cake. The flavor was good however but with the multi-step process and the amount of butter and sugar in this cake I was expecting something a bit more special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Very good cake! Turned out very well for this being my first pineapple upside down cake. It was a huge hit with my family. Will definitely make this again. Happy eating!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
OMG....I've made this several times now. It is amazing. and the best part is that you have all the ingredients at hand most of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME! I used it to make pineapple upside down cake for the first time and it came out perfect. The second time I made it I added a can of crushed pineapple to the cake mix. I drained the juice out of the can first and then added the pineapple. I also added marachino cherries to my topping. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States