Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Wow what a cake. First time making a pineapple upside down cake. Substitutions: Used fresh pineapple, but a few slices werent as ripe as i'd like so I carmelized them a bit. I had no pineapple juice so I used 1 C apple juice and sauteed the carmelized pineapple in the apple juice for a little while until it reduced to 3/4c as per recipe. I also added 1tsp cinnamon to the brown sugar mixture. Unfortunately for me, my daughter didnt have a 9in pan other than a spring pan so I lost juice out the bottom. I made a reduction when the cake was out of the oven and threw it under the broiler for a few. The cake itself was a lovely texture, beautiful in color, and light in taste. A perfect cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
It was very good ! I used the whole pineapple as directed, there was a lot, so I decided to put in a 9x13 Pyrex. I think if I had used a cake pan, the pineapples would stack too many layers, wouldn't look pretty like the photo shown. Even in 9x13 pan, I stacked pineapples 2 layers. When I made the batter it was not enough to spread completely to cover the whole thing ( I even used all 3 eggs, what's the point of leaving one yolk out ?) so I spread it very thin, not covering every inch. I would have to say, after it baked, the dough did raise a little so it looked fine...But, I did not dare to turn the pan upside down, we just cut out of the pan, and it was certainly delicious, definitely more pineapples then cake. We didn't mind that. The pineapples left juice at the bottom which was really good...note :It was not thicker and caramelized like I had imagined though. The 'cake' part was more like a firm crust, which was good. Overall it was very good and refreshing, not dense and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This cake is awesome! I used canned pineapple and followed the directions except I reduced the white sugar to 1/4 cup because the pineapples were sweetened. It looks great and tastes great! I will definitely be making this over and over again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by BALDOR1
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Followed directions for toppings exactly (i.e., brown sugar, butter, pineapple juice, pineapple rings & maraschino cherries) but used boxed cake mix for the cake. Used Duncan Hines Golden Butter Cake Mix and used juice from pineapple rings in lieu of water, then added 1/2 tsp of Almond Extract. Cake was delicious and very moist. Will definitely make this recipe again, but will make the cake from scratch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I have made this twice now - once with fresh pineapple (using the juice from a canned pineapple) and once with canned pineapple. Both times it turned out DELICIOUS! I've not made pineapple upside down cake from scratch before so it may be that there are better recipes out there. All I can say though is that I have made this one and loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
maybe my pineapple was juicier than normal but the cooking time was way off on this. Came out uncooked in the middle even after 20 extra min in oven.Also pan was full to the spilling point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I tried this twice thinking I made an error the 1st time. It came out like Pineapple Upside Down "SOUP" both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Very good cake. I didn't have pineapple juice so I used OJ. I was too lazy to seperate the egg whites, I just mixed it all together. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I followed it exactly and it turned out a soggy mess. There is way too much liquid for the amount of flour and there is no way you can fit a whole sliced pineapple unless the slices are thicker than the cake. I managed to get 2 edible servings by cutting the outer edges. The middle was so wet it totally colapsed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
very delicious! never made or tasted a cake like this, it was a very good recipe, i did u a can of fresh pineapple in its own juice and it was still perfect:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States