Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
the next time I make this, I need to use a longer pan and a shallower level of batter, it was sadly over dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eddington, Maine, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I made this cake using a 9 inch rounc cake pan as specified - the cake over ran the edge of the pan. Next time I will use a 10 round pan. Cake was very good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
It's not a difficult recipe to make, but if you're going to attempt the "chiffon" texture, then it will be. I did not want to break out my stand mixer, and attempted it by hand. I read that a little bit of salt for the first few minutes and then a little bit of vinegar the last few minutes in addition with a touch of sugar to the egg whites to stabilize the peaks would work for a hand mixer. I was using a wisk...haha, so there was no way it would've worked. I got it to the frothing stage where the egg whites held their shape somewhat, but that was pointless, b/c as soon as they were incorporated, all the bubbles burst. Technically, the egg peaks should be able to hold the weight of an egg. If you're not going to take out at least the hand mixer, just know your going to enjoy one great dense cake. My favorite part is definitely the cake portion. It's definitely sweet, so you'll definitely like it if that's your thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
fabulous exactly as is. one of my guests declared it the best cake she'd ever had. ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianne Marskell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I used this recipe, as this is my mom's favorite dessert, for her birthday a year ago. She has apparently decided that her birthday is every week, because she requests this cake constantly! Super easy to make, turns out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Too many steps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Very delicious! I served it with vanilla yogurt, just pour the vanilla yogurt on top of the slice of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna Lee Newsome
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
The only thing I did differently was I made 2 cakes out of this recipe. I'm not much of a baker, but this recipe was so simple. I might have over whisked my egg whites(wasn't sure about the stiff or dry), but it was fine. I was so happy about the way my cake turned out that I had to post my pic on here. I will be making this one again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Lee Newsome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
The recipe was.an easy recipe to make. However the family said the top of the cake was very good but the bottom was very dry. Next time I will add pineapple pieces to the batter and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeani Mathers Donovan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Wow what a cake. First time making a pineapple upside down cake. Substitutions: Used fresh pineapple, but a few slices werent as ripe as i'd like so I carmelized them a bit. I had no pineapple juice so I used 1 C apple juice and sauteed the carmelized pineapple in the apple juice for a little while until it reduced to 3/4c as per recipe. I also added 1tsp cinnamon to the brown sugar mixture. Unfortunately for me, my daughter didnt have a 9in pan other than a spring pan so I lost juice out the bottom. I made a reduction when the cake was out of the oven and threw it under the broiler for a few. The cake itself was a lovely texture, beautiful in color, and light in taste. A perfect cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States