Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Paige Lakind
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Good, would like more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige Lakind

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Simply the best! I like to bake cakes from scratch NOT from a box and this is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Love this recipe! My first time whipping eggs like this. Everything came out perfectly. Perfect for holiday or any sunday dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Do NOT be intimidated by all the steps. Well worth it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Acosta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I was in a hurry when I made this cake and didn't follow the egg white/egg yolk directions as written (I beat the yolks into the whites). But it turned out OK in the end. I baked it in a 10" nonstick pan and didn't have a problem with dripping in the oven. Also, it came out of the pan beautifully. It was a bit juicy on top when done, but we just ran it through the broiler for a few minutes and it was DEVOURED by all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tabbrew
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I made this exactly as written...it is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VanessaM
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is a fantastic scratch recipe. It's not nearly as hard as it looks. The only changes I made were to use canned pineapple and add maraschino cherries for color. It was a hit for Easter. My mom was inspired to try the recipe and it came out great for her too. All you have to remember is that you'll need 4 bowls, a saucepan and your cake pan. Everything (except the topping) gets added into the dry ingredients bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Made it for my best friend's birthday as this is her favorite kind of cake. The fresh pineapple is amazing - my previous experience with pineapple upside down cake was the spongy stuff with canned pineapple and ubersweet radioactive maraschino cherries - bleeeeeech! This cake turned out delicious and amazing. Not too sweet - I used frozen dark cherries on top, very good. It was not at all dry, topping was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Have made it twice, now. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and the center was totally uncooked even though the outside was very dark, on the edge of burned. The second time I reduced the heat to 350 and baked for 45 minutes. Golden brown, just done in the center and had absorbed the brown sugar mixture almost totally. I really don't see the need to separate the eggs or omit the third yolk, though. This is supposed to be a dense, sweet cake, not angel food, so why go to the extra trouble? I think next time I'll try just creaming the sugar with the butter and mixing the whole eggs in. Very moist cake with good balance of flavors, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minx Reichard

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My first time baking a pineapple upside down cake and it is delicious! I'm eating it right now as I'm typing this review. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States