Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My husband said it's the best cake I ever made!! I made exactly as directed. I bought a fresh pineapple (the already cored fresh pineapple) assuming there would be enough pineapple juice but there was only about 1/4 cup. I used canned pineapple juice to make up the difference. Baked about 28 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Mine was too runny on the top but I substituted a lot of ingredients I didn't have (additional egg, and brown sugar) which is probably a huge reason. It was all over when I flipped it over. Hopefully chilling it will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
the dough tastes like scone dough - mine didn't turn out much like cake but I really liked the texture. I substituted half the sugar with Steviva and next time I'll try to substitute the butter for a healthier option
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
The cake was delicious; however, it didn't look very appetizing. I baked it just as instructed but the cake was a bit flat. The topping was great, though. I recommend doubling the ingredients and using 4-5 eggs. Also, canned pineapple works just as well as fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I used this recipe to whip up a quick dessert. The only alteration I made was using canned pineapple as I didn't have a fresh one to hand. I used a 20 oz can of pineapple rings and it worked out great. Everyone loved the cake. Next time I will give it a try with fresh pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Haven't eaten any yet but it looks and smells awesome going into the oven!!!! First time making Pineapple upside down cake so I am excited!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prohomecookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
baked this as a surprise for my wife and it was a huge hit. I did add a touch of caramel on top of the pineapple in the last two minutes while broiling in a CONVECTION oven. Watch closely cause it will burn black if your lazy (ok I was lazy but only on a small test piece)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plumbeemer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Absolutely delicious cake made as is. I only baked it for 25 minutes and it was done. I always test cake, cookies etc before the stated time because the recipe is just a guideline and every oven is different. I have made this with both fresh and canned pineapple and both are hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Really good cake. Batter is so soft and moist. I just think it needs a little more sugar. Next time I'll add a cup of sugar to the batter instead of 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This turned out very good. My husband's favorite cake is Pineapple upside down and he gave it two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States