Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I was so happy to find this recipe. The pear tree did so well and I had no idea what to do with them! The pie is perfect! The only thing I didn't use was the lemon zest and it was still great. Can these be frozen so I have some for the holidays?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Purple Ribbon Pie! I had never heard of or tasted pear pie. I had pears from a friend and decided to give it a try. Wow! My dad thought that he was eating apple pie--but this is much better! I will most definitely be making this again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I got alot of pears from a neighbor and didn't know what to do with them all. So glad I found this! This was very easy to make and takes just like an apple pie. I followed the advice of another follower and used corn starch in stead of flour. I did not use lemon zest, but I did use the lemon juice. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Very good pie!Men in the family gave it their endorsement and told me to make another one.They are quick to pick the pears and bring them in for another pie. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made 2nd pie and decided to do the crumb crust on pie as other reviewers had suggested and it was great also.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This pie was AMAZING. I made it vegan by using the "Buttery Double Crust" recipe from Isa Chandra Moskowitz's and Terry Hope Romero's "Vegan Pie in the Sky" book and by using Earth Balance vegan margarine instead of butter (though I'm not sure the butter is even necessary at all for a great pie). I also didn't bother layering the pears and the sugar mixture - I just mixed it all together in a bowl, poured it into the bottom pie crust, and lattice-crusted the top. 5 stars - amazing pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I loved this and have made half dozen cause the feedback has been so positive. Changes: Instead of a top crust I used a brown sugar/pecan topping from an apple pie recipe on this site. 2) I used only 1/4 c of sugar for 2 pies plus the zest and juice of one lemon -- our fresh pears were so sweet i didn't need much sugar. The pie was light and refreshing and just sweet and tart enough to be a hit with kids and adults of all ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Excellent recipe and it came out good on my first try. I mixed a portion of the dry mixture with the pear slices then rest as I layered. this is going to be a standard in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beverlysmusic
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This recipe is incredible!! After making this pie I have people asking for this recipe! We actually like pear pie over apple pie! The only change I made to this was adding 1 tablespoon of cornstarch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I admit I did not make this as shown, but will rate it high because my pear pie recipe is so good. Since this one sounds so much like "apple pie" and pears are usually bland, I switch things up by omitting the cinnamon, using orange peel instead of lemon and adding 1/4 c raisins and 2 T. chopped walnuts. (My recipe also calls for 3 T. instant tapioca instead of flour). When pie is cooled to luke warm, glaze with a thin powdered sugar, orange juice & orange peel glaze. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was disappointing, only because it was almost indistinguishable from apple pie. It probably could be improved with additional spices spices . The consistency of the cooled pie made for a nice, neat slice, but I don't think I'll make this again. Not bad, just lackluster, for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States