Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by beverlysmusic
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This recipe is incredible!! After making this pie I have people asking for this recipe! We actually like pear pie over apple pie! The only change I made to this was adding 1 tablespoon of cornstarch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I admit I did not make this as shown, but will rate it high because my pear pie recipe is so good. Since this one sounds so much like "apple pie" and pears are usually bland, I switch things up by omitting the cinnamon, using orange peel instead of lemon and adding 1/4 c raisins and 2 T. chopped walnuts. (My recipe also calls for 3 T. instant tapioca instead of flour). When pie is cooled to luke warm, glaze with a thin powdered sugar, orange juice & orange peel glaze. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was disappointing, only because it was almost indistinguishable from apple pie. It probably could be improved with additional spices spices . The consistency of the cooled pie made for a nice, neat slice, but I don't think I'll make this again. Not bad, just lackluster, for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I enjoyed this recipe, but if i had to choose between this or apple, i'd choose apple. I used asian pears - maybe that is where i went wrong? Although I thought they were perfect because they remained firm while cooking. I would make this again with double the sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Killer Carrot
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Yum, yum. It was a little sweet for my liking, so next time I will reduce the sugar. But this was a fun variation on an apple pie. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
little less lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Loses the pear flavor in baking. A good pie but tastes just like apple pie so not sure I would use pears again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I've been making this now for two or three years. It has become my signature pie. My mom absolutely DEMANDS one all to her self for Thanksgiving and Christmas. The only thing I do differently than the original recipe is mixing everything together before putting into the crust (as opposed to sprinkling it on top) and increasing the cinnamon to 1.5 tsp (because I love cinnamon) and adding a half tsp of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing. Made this in a GF version and the family RAVED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by She_Dragon

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Well received. Not too sweet. Didn't think it tasted like apple pie and neither did anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States