Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My husband and son loved it. My in-laws gave us some more pears and when I asked what to make with the pears it was voted the fresh pear pie again! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This pie was so easy to make (I used my local HEB brand prepared crust), and when I made one, EVERYONE LOVED IT!! Since I had so many pears from my tree, I made 6 more for freezing and gifts. I am hoping that they are as good in the disposable pie pans as it was baked in my glass pan, though. I'm a little worried about that. If they are, I am going to make more of them to freeze!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Wow...so good! I have a pear tree loaded and will be making more to freeze...i did use 3/4 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Our pear tree produced an exceptional crop this year. I found this recipe and it is delicious. I did exchange the lemon juice and zest for orange in some of the pies and it is outstanding. I was able to freeze several pies for a later time. Thanks for giving this recipe. Deanna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Incredible! I may have put in a touch more lemon zest & juice than called for but it tastes great and makes for an attractive slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I had never tried pear pie before so I didn't know what to expect. This was delicious! I loved the lemon hint to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was enjoyed by all, although I didn't find the filling to be anything life-changing. When eating the fruit, I prefer pears to apples, but in pie, I have to say I prefer apples to pears. I just like the tartness of an apple pie a little more. I filled a whole wheat flax crust (double crust) and grated some gruyere on the top and THAT was life-changing. I think without the special touch of cheese this would've been some ho-hum-pretty-good-pie-but-I-ain't-gonna-write-home-about-it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This was delicious. I have used this recipe several times using pears and then using apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gloucester, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Someone sent us a box of wonderful pears for Christmas, and we couldn't eat them fast enough. I found this recipe on the site, and decided to try it to use the pears. My husband went nuts. He said it was the best pie ever. I will definately make this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thor, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pinetop, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I got to thinking to myself hey I've had lots of apple pie in my life but never had a pear pie. Nor have I ever heard of pear pie, so I googled pear pie and found this recipe. Made it and an Apple pie using the same recipe for both pies and the pear pie was gone first. Every body was suprised when they found out it was a pear pie. they want it again. I am happy with it but I am going to tweak it a bit next time. Now I used my gramma's hot pie crust recipe witch is great for fruit pies real nice and flakie but not so great for pot pies. It's a hard crust to work with and not to pretty but dang good. It just fit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States