Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by nurses-r-angels
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Gosh this was really good. It is not icky sweet. I think it is just perfect the way it is. I can't imagine it any other way. We have pear trees galore where we live and Nobody around here will pick the local trees, so I generally put up about 600 pounds of pears. So this is just a perfect pear pie for that cold winters day like today. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe but did a lattice top instead. It turned out great! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This really doesn't taste like you would think.... It was a nice spin on the traditional apple pie taste. The pears give it just a little boost in the fruit flavor. I think next time I will cut the nutmeg in half. It was a bit over powering. I also didn't have any course sugar so I sprinkled a little bit of brown sugar on the top before baking and it was fabulous!!! Also a good idea to use a deep dish. The amount of pears this recipe calls for is too much for a standard 9" pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Too much nutmeg for me. Everyone else loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Delish! And I love that it only has a TB of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar. It's sweet, but not too sweet. Make it using the French Pastry Pie Crust from this website, and you'll be happy you did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Didn't use the lemon zest but did follow one of the reviewers advice and used a tablespoon of fresh ginger and instead of flour used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch. I didn't layer, I just mixed everything together. Before putting in the oven, I wet my pie crust with milk and sprinkled sugar on top. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Great fall flavour! Serve it with vanilla ice-cream. As others suggested, tossing the sugar mixture with the pears makes for better distribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I honestly think this tastes better than apple pie. I had a bunch of pears from my sister-in-laws tree so decided to triple this recipe and freeze the other two batches for another day. I did not have a lemon on hand so that was omitted. I also topped with the crumble topping that another viewer listed: 1/2 C. butter (melted), 1/2 C. brown sugar mixed into butter and then 1 cup of flour. I also added into this crumble some walnuts (I didn't have pecans on hand). A great pie crust recipe on this site is "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust" if you're looking for an easy homemade crust to accompany this. I baked at 350 for an hour. Thanks for making me look like a master baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
spot on good pie fell in love with my wife one more time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States