Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Delish! And I love that it only has a TB of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar. It's sweet, but not too sweet. Make it using the French Pastry Pie Crust from this website, and you'll be happy you did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Didn't use the lemon zest but did follow one of the reviewers advice and used a tablespoon of fresh ginger and instead of flour used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch. I didn't layer, I just mixed everything together. Before putting in the oven, I wet my pie crust with milk and sprinkled sugar on top. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Great fall flavour! Serve it with vanilla ice-cream. As others suggested, tossing the sugar mixture with the pears makes for better distribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I honestly think this tastes better than apple pie. I had a bunch of pears from my sister-in-laws tree so decided to triple this recipe and freeze the other two batches for another day. I did not have a lemon on hand so that was omitted. I also topped with the crumble topping that another viewer listed: 1/2 C. butter (melted), 1/2 C. brown sugar mixed into butter and then 1 cup of flour. I also added into this crumble some walnuts (I didn't have pecans on hand). A great pie crust recipe on this site is "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust" if you're looking for an easy homemade crust to accompany this. I baked at 350 for an hour. Thanks for making me look like a master baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
spot on good pie fell in love with my wife one more time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Mix your pears with the sugar and then add. Some of our company thought it was a apple pie. I used butter flavored crisco and what a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
i always wind up butchering recipes because i hate following directions. anyway they manage to usually come out well. for this pie i used pears from my yard even though the raccoons and skunks have scarfed up most of them. some were ripe, some green and hard. i used a premade crust, confectioners sugar instead of flour and sugar, and squeezed lime instead of lemon zest. also twice the amount of butter. no top crust. instead covered with pierced foil during baking and served with melted sharp cheddar on top, added last few minutes of baking. odd i know but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I make this every year my pear tree gives up its pears! Perfect every time, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
1/2 Cup of sugar = WAAAAAAAAY too much. Pears are nice sweet so just a couple of tablespoons was perfect, almost too sweet even. I would've had to have thrown the whole pie out if I used 1/2 cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States