Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was the first time that I made a pear pie. It was PERFECT! So easy to make and tasty and moist!! This is my new dessert to make for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa Su'esu'e

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was very good very fresh and not overly sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
My family has been making pear pies for generations so I consider myself somewhat of an expert on the subject. The reason your pear pies are tasting like apple pies is the CINNAMON!!! Do what our family does and use NUTMEG! Other reviewers are correct: make sure your pears are ripe almost to the point of being soft. Also, don't be afraid of using salt in your dessert recipes! This recipe says use 1/4 teaspoon salt. That's not enough to even bother with! I would at least double that, and the reason is: SALT MAKES SUGAR TASTE EVEN SWEETER! We also traditionally sprinkle some white sugar over the top crust before baking. This always helps us differentiate it from an apple pie at a family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Staten McNeil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
really good used canned apples with the pears and it worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berta Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
How wonderful that a few simple ingredients can produce something so wonderful! I used brown sugar because I was out of white...probably white would have been better. And I didn't have the lemon zest or juice, so I just left it out. But with those variations, it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Good recipe! I was short one cup of fruit, so I put a cup of frozen blueberries as a bottom layer (and to make the pie prettier, without staining all the pears blue). We love pear pie. Happy to have found this recipe when I couldn't locate mine and none of my cookbooks had one. This is very similar to the one I have---somewhere. I have used orange juice and zest when I didn't have lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barriemarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tgfrider
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Delicious! Everyone loved this, especially my dad since I used the pears from his tree! Will use less lemon next time, as I was told it had a pinch to much. I mixed all the ingredients with the pears. Would definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is a terrific recipe. I didn't modify anything and it was gone in one evening. My only advice is to increase the flour if your pears are really ripe, as mine were. My filling was still really wet and it caused some of the bottom crust to be a little underbaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This pie was amazing. I forgot to add the lemon juice but did add extra zest! I loved the sweetness and zing of the zest...I cooked my bottom pie shell before filling with pears. On 400 for 10 minutes (weighted with beans), then removed beans and cooked for another 4 minutes, then filled as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Excellent - I made two because I had so many pears (from a family members tree) and it was a hit. I've made apple pies and I've learned my lesson - slice the pears very thin. Definitely serve warm! And I followed Lisa L's suggestion to use the crumble topping: 1/2 cup each butter and brown sugar mixed together with 1 cup flour. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States