Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I didn't have any lemon zest, but it was still the best pie I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I made this pie because my little guy is allergic to apples. After taking it to a picnic and only getting one slice, I made another the next day. It didn't last long! My mom, who doesn't even like pears, has decided that I can just bring this pie to Thanksgiving instead of having apple. It tastes just the same. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Ok, nothing spectacular. Tastes a lot like apple pie but with a pear flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I was trying to figure out what in the world to do with all of the pears that came off of my grandmother's tree this year when I found this recipe, and boy am I glad that we found it. It really is quite tasty! As per other reviews, I mixed the dry ingredients with my pears before dumping them in the crust, and I used a crumb topping on the top instead of the second crust. If you're interested, my crumb topping it is 1/4 c. butter melted, 1/2 c. light brown sugar, and 3/4 c. flour. Oh, if you use a crumb topping there's no need to mix any butter in with the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Love Pear Pie better than apple always have....I hadn't been able to find my recipe! This is it...and IT ROCKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I'm not too big of a pear lover, but this recipe gives it an almost apple pie flavor. My family and I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
It was ok. But thats all. Kind of dry and not enough seasoning. Not sweet enough for pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
this is probably the best fruit pie ever created! WAY better then an apple pie. I use the No Fail Crust by Molly from this site. i always get rave reviews even from the ones that arent pie eaters or even ones that arent pear fans. I went with the other reviewers suggestions about mixing the pears with the sugar mixture before placing into the crusts. I also use a mixture of about 6-7 pears (depending on the size) because i like a fuller pie. Thank you Carol for such a scrumptous dessert. i cant tell you how many times i've made this but it's a hit everytime. Take my advice and others here. this is the recipe you want!! mmm yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this last night, and it was just delicious! I canned over 125 pounds of pears this fall, so I tried using the homecanned ones in this recipe. Since I don't use hardly any sweetner in my canning, they worked great. Baked it about the amount of time listed, and the filling was perfect and the crust not soggy. Will be making many more of these this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I love this pie. A few notes. I love to bake desserts. I am picky about desserts. I found this pie, and it sounded nice. But I don't have much money to spend, being a College student. This recipe does not require many unique ingredients other than pear, and the ingredients I had to buy didn't cost much. I told my mother I was baking pear pie and she freaked. She thought I was crazy, she thought it would taste bad. But I decided to bake it anyways. EVERYONE LOVED IT! It was a huge success. I tried it with the suggested 'crumb topping' which was faaabulous! Can't forget the vanilla ice cream to go with it! My brother, his girlfriend, my mom and her friend, and my fiancee and me all loved it. There were no complaints! I am asked to bake this all the time, and I love to bake it all the time! Simple, cheap, wonderful, and delicious! A++++++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States