Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I got to thinking to myself hey I've had lots of apple pie in my life but never had a pear pie. Nor have I ever heard of pear pie, so I googled pear pie and found this recipe. Made it and an Apple pie using the same recipe for both pies and the pear pie was gone first. Every body was suprised when they found out it was a pear pie. they want it again. I am happy with it but I am going to tweak it a bit next time. Now I used my gramma's hot pie crust recipe witch is great for fruit pies real nice and flakie but not so great for pot pies. It's a hard crust to work with and not to pretty but dang good. It just fit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Amazing pie! Love the lemony addition to the pie. Used Anjou pears and turned out great. We sprinkled the leftover sugar mixture on the top of the pie and loved it. Definitely something to be made again. Wonderful tasting pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Delicious! I got many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I think this pie is excellent! its super easy and tastes delicious..the only thing I do differently is mix together the flour and sugar, etc and stir it in with the pears and then dump into shell and top with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard_c9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was awesome. I have about 6 asian pears and was looking for a recipe. I did make the change as one person suggested to use corn starch in stead of flour which made it set up perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by souletrain
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was really good. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yamajava

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I had a bunch of pears in the house and was trying to use them up. We just loved this. I think my boyfriend liked it more than apple pie. Delicious. P.S. I didn't skin the pears. Takes too much effort and really doesn't matter if you thinly slice the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I really like this recipe and will be making it for Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Made a few adjustments but pie was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SynDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I was so happy to find this recipe. The pear tree did so well and I had no idea what to do with them! The pie is perfect! The only thing I didn't use was the lemon zest and it was still great. Can these be frozen so I have some for the holidays?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States