Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This really doesn't taste like you would think.... It was a nice spin on the traditional apple pie taste. The pears give it just a little boost in the fruit flavor. I think next time I will cut the nutmeg in half. It was a bit over powering. I also didn't have any course sugar so I sprinkled a little bit of brown sugar on the top before baking and it was fabulous!!! Also a good idea to use a deep dish. The amount of pears this recipe calls for is too much for a standard 9" pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Too much nutmeg for me. Everyone else loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Delish! And I love that it only has a TB of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar. It's sweet, but not too sweet. Make it using the French Pastry Pie Crust from this website, and you'll be happy you did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Didn't use the lemon zest but did follow one of the reviewers advice and used a tablespoon of fresh ginger and instead of flour used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch. I didn't layer, I just mixed everything together. Before putting in the oven, I wet my pie crust with milk and sprinkled sugar on top. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Great fall flavour! Serve it with vanilla ice-cream. As others suggested, tossing the sugar mixture with the pears makes for better distribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I honestly think this tastes better than apple pie. I had a bunch of pears from my sister-in-laws tree so decided to triple this recipe and freeze the other two batches for another day. I did not have a lemon on hand so that was omitted. I also topped with the crumble topping that another viewer listed: 1/2 C. butter (melted), 1/2 C. brown sugar mixed into butter and then 1 cup of flour. I also added into this crumble some walnuts (I didn't have pecans on hand). A great pie crust recipe on this site is "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust" if you're looking for an easy homemade crust to accompany this. I baked at 350 for an hour. Thanks for making me look like a master baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay McDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
spot on good pie fell in love with my wife one more time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Mix your pears with the sugar and then add. Some of our company thought it was a apple pie. I used butter flavored crisco and what a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
i always wind up butchering recipes because i hate following directions. anyway they manage to usually come out well. for this pie i used pears from my yard even though the raccoons and skunks have scarfed up most of them. some were ripe, some green and hard. i used a premade crust, confectioners sugar instead of flour and sugar, and squeezed lime instead of lemon zest. also twice the amount of butter. no top crust. instead covered with pierced foil during baking and served with melted sharp cheddar on top, added last few minutes of baking. odd i know but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States