Fresh Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Mix your pears with the sugar and then add. Some of our company thought it was a apple pie. I used butter flavored crisco and what a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
i always wind up butchering recipes because i hate following directions. anyway they manage to usually come out well. for this pie i used pears from my yard even though the raccoons and skunks have scarfed up most of them. some were ripe, some green and hard. i used a premade crust, confectioners sugar instead of flour and sugar, and squeezed lime instead of lemon zest. also twice the amount of butter. no top crust. instead covered with pierced foil during baking and served with melted sharp cheddar on top, added last few minutes of baking. odd i know but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I make this every year my pear tree gives up its pears! Perfect every time, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
1/2 Cup of sugar = WAAAAAAAAY too much. Pears are nice sweet so just a couple of tablespoons was perfect, almost too sweet even. I would've had to have thrown the whole pie out if I used 1/2 cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe, and it held together nicely once it cooled. However I did change two things: I left out the butter and the lemon, and added nutmeg, quite a bit of ground cardamom, ground cloves, a tiny bit of ginger and a minuscule dash of cinnamon. It turned out wonderfully, and the whole house smells like spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AliceM
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yummy. Makes me wonder why pear pie isn't more common
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My husband and son loved it. My in-laws gave us some more pears and when I asked what to make with the pears it was voted the fresh pear pie again! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This pie was so easy to make (I used my local HEB brand prepared crust), and when I made one, EVERYONE LOVED IT!! Since I had so many pears from my tree, I made 6 more for freezing and gifts. I am hoping that they are as good in the disposable pie pans as it was baked in my glass pan, though. I'm a little worried about that. If they are, I am going to make more of them to freeze!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Wow...so good! I have a pear tree loaded and will be making more to freeze...i did use 3/4 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States