Fresh Pear Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I read every review for this recipe thinking it was going to be wonderful. What a disappointment. The crisp was dry, except where the pears boiled over into it and turned it into goo. It didn't have a whole lot of flavor, and most of my dessert loving family ate the ice cream off of the top and left the crisp on their plates. This NEVER happens. What a waste of yummy pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Excellent! I didn't peel the pears and I didn't add the grated lemon peel and it turned out just fine. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Excluded the ginger and it didn't seem to make a difference, otherwise I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I served it with a scoop of French Vanilla ice cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
YUM! This is a wonderful recipe!! I used real butter, as others suggested and also a bit more of it... probably 2 extra Tbsp. We also didn't have ginger, so I left that out, but we served it with fresh whipped cream and my family gobbled it up! I will have to double the recipe next time. SOOO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Great recipe! I used real butter instead of margarine. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
My family ate this for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
excellent!!! making it again as we speak! has great flavor! the ginger and lemon peel make it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is the best crisp recipe using oats that I have used. I only had old fashioned oats not the quick oats called for in the recipe. It turned out super and the topping was slightly crunchy which was good. I did drizzle on a little extra margarine over the topping before baking which I think helped. I used canned pears and they turned out fine, very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Yvette Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
A-. This was delicious. Alittle on the dry side- may need to add some sort of liquid to moistened. Afterwards, I added some vanilla yogurt to freshen it up alittle. Some changes I made- used whole wheat all purpose flour, maple syrup instead of brown sugar (an amazing substite and will give you a maple/cinnamon flavour) and twice as many pears as recommended b/c I had a lot on hand. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Excellent Recipe - I really like Pear Cobbler with Oats. I added a handfull of Crasins (can use raisons) to add color and a bit of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States