Fresh Pear Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I read every review for this recipe thinking it was going to be wonderful. What a disappointment. The crisp was dry, except where the pears boiled over into it and turned it into goo. It didn't have a whole lot of flavor, and most of my dessert loving family ate the ice cream off of the top and left the crisp on their plates. This NEVER happens. What a waste of yummy pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Excellent! I didn't peel the pears and I didn't add the grated lemon peel and it turned out just fine. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Excluded the ginger and it didn't seem to make a difference, otherwise I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I served it with a scoop of French Vanilla ice cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
YUM! This is a wonderful recipe!! I used real butter, as others suggested and also a bit more of it... probably 2 extra Tbsp. We also didn't have ginger, so I left that out, but we served it with fresh whipped cream and my family gobbled it up! I will have to double the recipe next time. SOOO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Great recipe! I used real butter instead of margarine. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
My family ate this for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
excellent!!! making it again as we speak! has great flavor! the ginger and lemon peel make it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is the best crisp recipe using oats that I have used. I only had old fashioned oats not the quick oats called for in the recipe. It turned out super and the topping was slightly crunchy which was good. I did drizzle on a little extra margarine over the topping before baking which I think helped. I used canned pears and they turned out fine, very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
A-. This was delicious. Alittle on the dry side- may need to add some sort of liquid to moistened. Afterwards, I added some vanilla yogurt to freshen it up alittle. Some changes I made- used whole wheat all purpose flour, maple syrup instead of brown sugar (an amazing substite and will give you a maple/cinnamon flavour) and twice as many pears as recommended b/c I had a lot on hand. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Excellent Recipe - I really like Pear Cobbler with Oats. I added a handfull of Crasins (can use raisons) to add color and a bit of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States