Fresh Pear Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I thought it was missing something...very blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this for my dungeons and dragons group. They all devoured it in an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
1. Don't use canned pears, if you can--they're too mushy and often too sweet. 2. Plan to use 4 fresh pears per crisp. I'd recommend Bartlett or Concorde. I wouldn't pick Bosc because I typically find them a little grainy. 3. After they're peeled and cut in half, you can core the pears easily with a melon baller. 4. Skip the margarine and use butter--it tastes better. You might also add a little extra to the mix: I put in about 5 tbs total. I made this pear crisp for thanksgiving as an alternative to the pumpkin & apple pies that people typically contribute and boy am I glad I did. The recipe is great. It doesn't get overly-complicated with flavors -- there is *just* the right amount of spice to compliment the subtle flavor of the pears. And when the pears cook down nice and soft, they have a wonderful contrast with the crumble on top--nicer than you'd have with other kinds of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bradpow1030

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Harlem, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is good and easy as written. I did have a random apple lying around that I chopped up and threw in there. Also......very important.....throw in a couple pinches of salt. It brings out every flavor. Also.....I eye balled everything so I didn't have much clean up at all. Impossible to mess this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Great pear recipe! I used 4 pears, left out the lemon juice & peel, used butter instead of margarine, and replaced 1/2 the ginger with nutmeg. I baked just the pears in the casserole, covered in foil, for 40 minutes, then added the crumb topping (which I doubled) for 15 to 20 minutes. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
this is an awesome recipe, I doubled the crumble, added blueberries and used fresh grated ginger and fresh squeezed lemon juice in an 11 x 15 with a dozen pears.. had to cook 15 extra min but just to die for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
this was great as writen, have so many pears .good to find a recipe I can do so quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was a HIT! My husband and kids absolutely love it. This was a great way to use up pears that were beginning to go ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
very delicious recipe. I doubled the topping recipe, because I like my crisps with a thick topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Excellent!!! I used the crumb topping but I doubled it. For the fruit mixture I used sugar, cinnamon and ground nutmeg and also added the ground nutmeg to the crumb mixture talk about flippin delicious!!! =) Made a 9 by 13 pan 3/4 already gone. I used about 15 to 20 soft pears so they didn't have to cook long!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States