Fresh Pear Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I thought it was missing something...very blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this for my dungeons and dragons group. They all devoured it in an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
1. Don't use canned pears, if you can--they're too mushy and often too sweet. 2. Plan to use 4 fresh pears per crisp. I'd recommend Bartlett or Concorde. I wouldn't pick Bosc because I typically find them a little grainy. 3. After they're peeled and cut in half, you can core the pears easily with a melon baller. 4. Skip the margarine and use butter--it tastes better. You might also add a little extra to the mix: I put in about 5 tbs total. I made this pear crisp for thanksgiving as an alternative to the pumpkin & apple pies that people typically contribute and boy am I glad I did. The recipe is great. It doesn't get overly-complicated with flavors -- there is *just* the right amount of spice to compliment the subtle flavor of the pears. And when the pears cook down nice and soft, they have a wonderful contrast with the crumble on top--nicer than you'd have with other kinds of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bradpow1030

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Harlem, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is good and easy as written. I did have a random apple lying around that I chopped up and threw in there. Also......very important.....throw in a couple pinches of salt. It brings out every flavor. Also.....I eye balled everything so I didn't have much clean up at all. Impossible to mess this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Great pear recipe! I used 4 pears, left out the lemon juice & peel, used butter instead of margarine, and replaced 1/2 the ginger with nutmeg. I baked just the pears in the casserole, covered in foil, for 40 minutes, then added the crumb topping (which I doubled) for 15 to 20 minutes. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Hinds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
this is an awesome recipe, I doubled the crumble, added blueberries and used fresh grated ginger and fresh squeezed lemon juice in an 11 x 15 with a dozen pears.. had to cook 15 extra min but just to die for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
this was great as writen, have so many pears .good to find a recipe I can do so quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was a HIT! My husband and kids absolutely love it. This was a great way to use up pears that were beginning to go ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
very delicious recipe. I doubled the topping recipe, because I like my crisps with a thick topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Excellent!!! I used the crumb topping but I doubled it. For the fruit mixture I used sugar, cinnamon and ground nutmeg and also added the ground nutmeg to the crumb mixture talk about flippin delicious!!! =) Made a 9 by 13 pan 3/4 already gone. I used about 15 to 20 soft pears so they didn't have to cook long!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States