Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Yummy! I used fresh pears, skipped the cloves, used 2/3 cup of apple sauce instead of canola oil, and walnuts instead of pecans. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
A delicious way to use up some pears I had sitting around! Very good. After reading the reviews I substituted the nutmeg for ginger and beat the eggs until they were white and starting to gain a little volume. Otherwise followed the directions as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I loved this cake! I used slivered almonds for the nuts as that's what I had on hand. Also, I was out of ground cloves, so I substituted pumpkin pie spice. The cake was fabulous! It was really light and yummy. One other note - the recipe says to beat the egg whites a little. I made this cake twice, and my suggestion is to beat the egg whites until they are about double their size and still foamy. That's how I did the 2nd cake and it turned out better. Also, I used self-rising flour. Everything turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I'm giving this four stars because I found the batter to be way too thick. It was more like cookie dough. That being said, I added about 1/2 cup milk, which did the trick. The cake baked beautifully and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Like another reviewer, I, too, cut the sugar in half to 1 cup because I had very ripe pears. It still turned out perfectly sweet and delicious. Didn't have pecans, but that was fine. As a busy mom, I also didn't take the time to peel the pears. The skin shrivels up when it bakes anyway, and no one, especially my 5 and 3-year-old, noticed or cared. It's really loaded with pears in every bite and is light and moist. Very delicious. Don't know why the recipe would call for 2 cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was tasty and moist. It's more like a bread than a cake to me. I kept it in the refrigerator so that it would stay fresher longer. I didn't have any cloves in the house, so I used a teaspoon of ginger instead. It was a great way to use my leftover pears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was awesome! We had fresh pears from our pear trees, but I could see using pears or apples as well. I loved the spice cake feel of it. We ate it for dessert with ice cream, and for breakfast with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I have been meaning to review this recipe for awhile. This is my family's absolute favorite dessert! I did follow some advice from other reviewers and halved the spices. I have won two contests with this cake, and someone is always asking for the recipe. I like to add a powdered sugar glaze to the top. This cake is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melburrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
As is, it was too sweet for me, and i also thought it was still too high in fat. By changing the flour to whole wheat flour, cutting the sugar in half, cutting the oil in half and adding 1/3 cup of milk it turned out to be a 5 star recipe, and it stayed moist for days (which never seems to happen when I bake a cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greve, Sjælland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
A fail proof recipe and another fantastic way to use the hundreds of pears that have fallen in the back yard! I noticed that those who did have good luck making this, did not follow the instructions. You must follow the recipe! The only addition I made was a streusel topping and a vanilla drizzle for the top. (I have a wicked sweet tooth!) My boyfriend took it to work and everyone when crazy for it. His words: "Even the skinny girls came back for seconds!" haha The recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States