Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Added some apple because I didnt have enough pear.Tasted great.A very moist,filling cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was very good. I used three cans of pears as fresh are not in season right now. I drained them for about 20 mintes. As others suggested I cut the sugar to 1 1.2 cups and cut the spices in 1/2, which I was glad I did, as they added just enough flavor without overpowering it. I left out the pecans as I am not a "nut" person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Awesome!! I used 4 pears, chopped. 1/3 c applesauce + 1/3 c canola oil instead of all oil. I didn't have ground cloves, so I substituted ginger. And I used 2 eggs instead of 4 whites. I only had a handful of walnuts, so I threw them in...hubby doesn't care for nuts, so that was a good compromise anyway. This cake is absolutely fantastic! I just finished a piece and I could go for another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent! I made the cake exactly as listed, and the results were delicious. Moist, spicy, nice pear fruit cooked throughout. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Delicious cake recipe! I didn't have access to fresh pears, so I used canned. Once the cake was cooled, I make a frosting out of powdered sugar, the leftover pear juice, and some orange juice. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
wow, this one of the best cakes i have ever made... did not have canola oil so used olive oil.... this is staying in my permanent recipe box..... I would give this cake a 10 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Love this recipe. It also works great with apples. The only change I make is to reduce the sugar and throw in some ground flax. I find it's way too sweet with the intended amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Torbet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Nice recipe, the taste of pears in the cake is delicious. I halved the spices and they were still too much, will use a quarter next time. The sugar is way too much as well - even just one cup of sugar was too much for my taste. Next time will try with half a cup. Everything else worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This cake is AWESOME! I followed some of the reviewers suggestions to change the spices a bit. I did the following: 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Instead of 2 cups white sugar, I did 1 1/3 cup white sugar and 2/3 cup brown sugar.I also let the pears sit for about 1 1/2 hours and all the juices came out which made for an extremely moist cake! I also finished the cake off with a powdered sugar glaze: 1 cup powdered sugar and couple Tablespoons milk, until you have a good consistency. I put it in a bottle and drizzled on top. You can also get messy (fun for kids!) and dip your fingers in and drizzle it over the top. Superb cake and now a favorite for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARZ7369

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States