Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Just making this cake for the second time! YUMM! Used soy oil insted of canola and almonds insted of pecans. Still delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta'sCrafts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I made this for a Dessert one friday night I had friends over. I knew it was a hit when one of them called me the following week to ask if I would bake them one for their dinner party the next Saturday! What a compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERNIE305

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Moist, held together well, mild pear flavor, mild spice, serves a lot. First time I made this, I did use two whole eggs instead of whites, and switched out the nutmeg with ginger (I love ginger). Following other reviewers, I cut the sugar in half both times. It's just mildly sweet this way, with the ripe pears I had, and that's great. Icing or ice cream would make it sweeter, and I'm sure it would be fine with the full amount - just more of a sweet "dessert" cake. Really, a great use of these pears (although the next day, the pear flavor all but disappears, for some reason.) Thanks for the recipe! UPDATE: 1/2 recipe in 2 mini loaf pans for about 50-55 min works great when you've only got a couple small pears to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Added some apple because I didnt have enough pear.Tasted great.A very moist,filling cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was very good. I used three cans of pears as fresh are not in season right now. I drained them for about 20 mintes. As others suggested I cut the sugar to 1 1.2 cups and cut the spices in 1/2, which I was glad I did, as they added just enough flavor without overpowering it. I left out the pecans as I am not a "nut" person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Awesome!! I used 4 pears, chopped. 1/3 c applesauce + 1/3 c canola oil instead of all oil. I didn't have ground cloves, so I substituted ginger. And I used 2 eggs instead of 4 whites. I only had a handful of walnuts, so I threw them in...hubby doesn't care for nuts, so that was a good compromise anyway. This cake is absolutely fantastic! I just finished a piece and I could go for another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent! I made the cake exactly as listed, and the results were delicious. Moist, spicy, nice pear fruit cooked throughout. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Delicious cake recipe! I didn't have access to fresh pears, so I used canned. Once the cake was cooled, I make a frosting out of powdered sugar, the leftover pear juice, and some orange juice. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
wow, this one of the best cakes i have ever made... did not have canola oil so used olive oil.... this is staying in my permanent recipe box..... I would give this cake a 10 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States