Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe! My children really enjoyed it (without nuts). This is great to serve for dessert or as muffins or sweet bread for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was delicious! I had to make some slight changes to the recipe because I didn't have a couple of items but it still turned out great! Instead of a bundt pan I used a 9x13 pan and watched the clock after 50 minutes but it also seemed to finish around the one hour and ten minutes mark. I ended up using about 1 1/2 cups of pears and 1/2 cup of apples because I ran out of pears. Like I said, it still turned out and I plan to make this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This cake is awesome and great for breakfast or anytime of the day. My mother love the cake and that says a lot. I will be making two more this week while there is still pears on the tree for the holidays and freeze them. This cake is so easy to make. I use only a half teaspoon of ground clove instead of the 1 teaspoon and it was just right. will let you know how the freezing go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was great! I read reviews, took some suggestions, and made scrumptious cupcakes that I shared with a group, my kids, and my extended family - and they all loved it too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Excellent cake. Had plenty of fresh pears from my neighbor :). I used about 1/2 cup less of sugar and I'm glad I did. Still plenty sweet. Will definitely make this again. Spices are right on the mark.PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this for a family gathering tonight and got rave reviews. Cut the spices slightly, added some ginger, and cut the sugar by 1/2 c. I also added a vanilla glaze from this site. Perfect. Served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This is such a good recipe - family loves it! I use only 1 cup rather than 2 of sugar and whole wheat instead of white flour, 1/3 c oil and 1/3 cup applesauce instead of 2/3c oil. Don't have a bundt pan (I have no idea why, My Big Fat Greek Wedding is one of my fave movies ever!) so use 2 loaf pans and reduce cooking time to 1 hr. House smells so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made this exactly as written and it was great! Very moist and spices were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Pretty good - my pears were overripe and squishy (Bartlett) and so the chunks in the cake were a little unappealing. My kids said they looked like pieces of jellyfish, so it was not a big hit with them. Tasted fine though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I collected 10 pears in my last couple of CSA boxes so I decided that it was cake time! I used 6 whole pears to get a little over 4 cups of chopped pears. My changes to the recipe are: 1) I used only 1 cup of brown sugar. 2) I didn't bother to sift the flour and used cake flour instead. 3) I used olive oil instead of canola oil. 4) I only used a pinch of nutmeg and cloves. 5) I used a 9 X 11 Pyrex dish to bake and it took 50 mins total. Super yummy and super easy. This cake is rather dense so it took a little bit of muscle to pour the stiff batter into the Pyrex dish. Also, it did not rise much after baking. Very filling cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States