Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I made this for someone else and did not get a chance to taste it. I can only go on their review which was glowing! The gave it a 10 on a scale of 1-10. I'm just sorry I didn't get the chance to taste it myself, but that's how it goes when you give food as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Everyone loved it! I left the spices as is. I cut down the sugar to 1.5 cups and used coconut oil instead of canola. The second time I made it, it did stick in the pan - so just make sure to coat the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alimcke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Oh this was really delicious! I had a load of pears ripening quickly from apple and pear picking this month, what to do I thought! Well I made this cake, I was very simple, and delicious. I have to say I did not use cloves, but a spekulaas spice (Dutch spice mix) and cinnamon. It was sweet and I did not use any frosting or icing etc. Sweet enough with out it really. In fact I might cut the sugar a bit next time but over all it was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe! My children really enjoyed it (without nuts). This is great to serve for dessert or as muffins or sweet bread for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was delicious! I had to make some slight changes to the recipe because I didn't have a couple of items but it still turned out great! Instead of a bundt pan I used a 9x13 pan and watched the clock after 50 minutes but it also seemed to finish around the one hour and ten minutes mark. I ended up using about 1 1/2 cups of pears and 1/2 cup of apples because I ran out of pears. Like I said, it still turned out and I plan to make this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This cake is awesome and great for breakfast or anytime of the day. My mother love the cake and that says a lot. I will be making two more this week while there is still pears on the tree for the holidays and freeze them. This cake is so easy to make. I use only a half teaspoon of ground clove instead of the 1 teaspoon and it was just right. will let you know how the freezing go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was great! I read reviews, took some suggestions, and made scrumptious cupcakes that I shared with a group, my kids, and my extended family - and they all loved it too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Excellent cake. Had plenty of fresh pears from my neighbor :). I used about 1/2 cup less of sugar and I'm glad I did. Still plenty sweet. Will definitely make this again. Spices are right on the mark.PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this for a family gathering tonight and got rave reviews. Cut the spices slightly, added some ginger, and cut the sugar by 1/2 c. I also added a vanilla glaze from this site. Perfect. Served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This is such a good recipe - family loves it! I use only 1 cup rather than 2 of sugar and whole wheat instead of white flour, 1/3 c oil and 1/3 cup applesauce instead of 2/3c oil. Don't have a bundt pan (I have no idea why, My Big Fat Greek Wedding is one of my fave movies ever!) so use 2 loaf pans and reduce cooking time to 1 hr. House smells so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States