Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This cake was phenomenal! I used Splenda to sweeten and added raisins and walnuts! My husband and I could not stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
exceptional. i added some blueberries and a teaspoon of gingeer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss.Starr
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Thank you so much for this excellent recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. Made three so far. They were consumed very quickly! Everyone still wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss.Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I had 3 pears that were ripe and so I decided to make this cake. I did add a dash of allspice, nutmeg and 1/2 tsp of ginger. This cake was so moist and delicious! I did add vanilla to the drizzle- everyone ate it all up!!! Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was a big hit! I had some pears that were getting just a little too squishy to eat, so I found this to use them up. It made a great "breakfast", and got rave reviews from the people I work with! My only gripe is that I wish the pear flavor stood out a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Nice cake. I halved the sugar and doubled the pears. Also added some nutmeg, ginger, and ground cloves. You could probably make it without the icing and serve it like zucchini bread or muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is pretty good even though I was almost finish with the batter and realized I had no vanilla extract!! And when I got to the frosting realized I had no milk had to use soy milk :/ Only complaint is this needs way more pear than what it calls for so next time I make it (and I def will) I'll use about 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILMAAMA01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Delicious! I made this cake with no changes to the ingredients except I didn't add the icing. I don't care for icing but it would have been prettier with it. Cake came out dense and moist and was a total hit with my toddler son and my husband. I used a square pan because it was all I had and it turned out well. The cake got a little black and burnt around the edges but that is because I have a super strong hot fan assisted oven. I tried to adjust for this by reducing the time in the oven but it needed the full time to cook because of the density. If you have a fan assisted oven I would reduce the cooking temperature rather than the cooking time. The pear in the cake remain in chunks throughout the cake; the cake batter is dense enough that it holds the fruit in place which is nice. I am sure the cake would have taken more pears than stated in the recipe and I think next time I would add another half cup. I personally don't have a very sweet tooth (I'm the type of person that drinks diluted fruit juice) so I will reduce the sugar by half cup next time as it's a pretty sweet cake. It tastes great as dessert last night and even better at breakfast with cream cheese. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was good and very moist. I think a little cinnamon or some spice would really put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I had 5 pears from a fruit-of-the-month club Xmas gift that were getting overripe, so I settled on this recipe for cupcakes on this gloomySaturday afternoon. And wowza they are tasty! I used all 5 pears, only 1.5 cups of sugar, and subbed 1/2 cup of the oil for applesauce, then baked for 30 minutes on 350. Perfect combo for the perfect pear cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States