Fresh Pear Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I followed lauradale's review, but I will use less sugar next time. I also had no instant vanilla pudding so I used instant cheesecake pudding instead. I also sprinkled both nutmeg and mace into my batter. My bread turned out pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made muffins out of it instead of bread. I also cut the recipe by 2/3 but still used an entire whole box of instant vanilla pudding. It turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
My came out thick like cake, but it sure was sweet. It might have been that my pears were a bit over ripe and I crushed them instead of shredding them. As such, I didn't add extra water and my baking soda was gone, so that might have explained the sunken brick filled with sweetness I had. I'll try this again some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Very good for a oil/butter free bread. Almost to moist,next time I will cook at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I used 2 cups of diced pears, 1/2 c of sugar, 1/2 c of wheat flour, 2 T. buttermilk and butterscotch pudding mix. This turned out great! I really wanted to put in cardamom to bring out the pear flavor, but I couldn't find it in my cupboard. Will definitely do that next time. This also made a small loaf so I may increase the recipe servings a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I used 1 1/2 c finely chopped pears. Edited to 3 tsp. cinnamon, 2 T milk instead of water, only 1/2 c sugar, small box of instant sugar-free pudding mix. The batter seemed quite thick, but baked up into a tasty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This came out really nice but we did have to bake it a half hour longer in my oven. It was really sweet for a bread and I would all less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
strange texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Very good, very low-fat bread. No oil or butter needed. Came out moist with a good blend of spice. Followed the recipe, but baked in mini loaf pans. We think it tastes more like a cinnamon bread with a little pear flavor, but we actually prefer it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This bread was great!! I doubled the recipe and used 3 eggs and whole wheat flour like another member suggested and it is divine!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States