Fresh Peach Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I think that this is a good base recipe, although I usually use a little more water and fruit for the same amount of sugar and cornstarch. I try and use equal parts white and brown sugar instead of all white. I like using chinese five spice instead of straight nutmeg and vanilla extract instead of almond. I have found that if I do these things, this recipe works well using ANY fruit. My daughter loves when I make this sauce using bananas! But I have also used strawberries, apples, peaches, blueberries and plums!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSMOON
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I doubled the recipe, and used 3 tbls of cornstarch, and one cup of water, 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of almond extract. Came out beautiful and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I've never made a sauce like this before. They only part of the recipe I didn't follow was the nutmeg and almond extract, simply because I didn't have either, or a suitable replacement. All other measurements and directions I followed to a tee. I love the kinda weird consistency and the flavor was AMAZING with buttered sweet biscuits I made to go with it. I can umafine this with all kinds of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bat Ma'am

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
It turned into a cornstarch goop and was not flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Yum! I also doubled the water and the peaches. I didn't have almond extract so I used lemon juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Overton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I made this last night with a few changes. I used 1 tablespoon of corn starch, used cinnamon instead of nutmeg and vanilla instead of almond extract. Then spooned it over vanilla ice cream. It was out of this world delicious. Next time I'm going to have to resist how good it smells and wait a little longer for it to cool down so I don't end up with melted ice cream again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Ah, so good. Not too sweet, great flavor of peach... it was great with crepes! I added some sliced almonds on the top. I made it with 2 peaches. I forgot to peel one of them, and it was ok. When I was boiling the water/cornstarch mixture I thought it was too thick, but then it turned our ok. Love the taste. will make it agin. thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was good. I made it for ice cream and should have let it cool for a bit before putting it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I "hate" to be one of THOSE people who see a recipe and change most EVERYTHING about it but here goes. I hope this helps someone? I used 3 "medium" ripe peaces and cut into bite size pieces. I used 1/2 c. of water and only 1 Tablespoon of cornstarch....a healthy "pinch" of nutmeg and used brown sugar instead of white and NO almond extract. It was perfect with loads of fresh peach taste. This recipe is a GREAT "base" recipe and sometimes that's more then you need. THANK YOU SO MUCH for posting this!! By the way....we used it on pancakes and will use the small bit left on ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Yum. So easy and great over pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States