Fresh Peach Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
The first time I made this pie I used homegrown peaches, which were very sweet & very juicy. The glaze was too watery and very sweet. The second time I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and the water to 1/4 cup. I left the cornstarch at 3T as the peaches were adding a lot of juice. The pie turned out perfectly. I would suggest you see how much juice is created when you mash the peaches and reduce the water as needed. Yummy fresh pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I have never attempted peach pie before this one, so I don't have much to compare it to (besides store-bought pie) After reading the reviews first I threw in an extra tablespoon of cornstarch and cut up more peaches then made 2 pies. It was awsome and perfectly set, everyone loved it, said it melted in their mouths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
My husband LOVED this recipe. Just made it for the 2nd time and my father in law enjoyed it as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I prepared this with half the water,increased the cornstarch by one TBSP, and added an extra quarter cup of sugar. The glaze set perfectly. Pie won't look good unless you pour glaze in bottom, press in all ugly pieces and then arrange perfect slices on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
If you are looking for a fresh peach pie recipe that contains no jello gelatin, this is for you! It is much creamer and richer then the pies with the gelatin and the nutmeg really gives it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
The peach sauce never hardened and the entire pie was runny. Everyone in my family thought this pie was not up to standards taste wise or appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
Maybe a little sloppy, but the flavor blows you away! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Recipe defiantely was easy and the mashed peach glaze was yummy. I was not a huge fan of the two different textures of the peaches. I bought the peaches earlier in season and they were very crunchy so I probably should have let them soften up a bit before I made the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
Excellent! I made this last night, it was sooo easy and fast, most of all very delicious! This is the only recipe I have rated 5 stars so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This was easy to make, delicious and very refreshing. My husband (who doesn't like fresh peaches) gave it 4 stars. I bought a ready-to-eat graham crust, which worked very well, as did adding a pinch of cinnamon to the cooked mixture. I probably should have made it earlier in the day - after 5 hours in the fridge, the filling still wasn't properly set. However, my mashed peaches were very ripe and therefore watery, which could be partially to blame. Next time I'll leave out the water and see what happens. Even though it ran all over their plates, my guests liked this pie so much that they asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montreal mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States