Fresh Peach Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
The mixture of cooked and non cooked peaches was so nice. I will make this again. Delicious! ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Not my kind of pie. Won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
The first time I did this recipe it ended up WAY too runny - and I ended up with enough liquid and peaches to make two pies. Regardless, it was totally delicious because the peaches I was using were amazing. The second time it gelled totally SOLID: I used nectarines instead of peaches because they tasted GREAT at the farmers' market. I used 4 tablespoons of corn starch and NO extra water. Instead, I let my nectarines sit in a colander for about 10 minutes and used all the juice that dripped onto a plate below. I crushed more like 1-2/3 cups of my nectarines - and crushed three strawberries into the mixture. I used the recommended amount of sugar. The sauce cooked up REALLY quickly and nearly burned even though I had it on low, so keep an eye on it! Then I poured my sauce into my pie crush and only added in enough fresh nectarines to fill - leaving some room on top for sliced strawberries. It was a pretty big hit. My only critique on this modification is that it ended up a little too sour overall. Next time I would use some really sweet peaches instead of nectarines, or compliment them with blueberries instead of strawberries. Also, the sauce set so perfectly well, that I would try to get away with using little less of it, and adding in more fresh fruit instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I must've messed up the glaze. This pie never set up properly after refrigeration...maybe I missed something? Next time, I think I will try a more traditional double crust, baked fruit pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made this pie for our July 4th celebration and after reading reviews opted to omit the water in the recipe only because the peaches I was using were so juicy. I also added 1 cup of fresh raspberries and gently tossed peaches with glaze and let it set overnight in a bowl. I placed filling into pie crust just before serving, added fresh whipped cream to top it off and it was a huge hit! Thanks for the recipe, I was looking for glaze that did not call for gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
AWESOME!!! Went peach picking with the family and 35 lbs. later I was up for more options in recipes. This one was such a hit I made 2 in 2 days! I'm at over 6800 ft in altitude and needed to make some minor adjustments (no addtl water and needed more starch). Other than that it was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
When you live in Jersey as I do and have access to Jersey Peaches, this is the recipe. It was wonderful. I used a little less water than called for, just enough to mix corn starch in. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I used a pre-made reduced fat graham cracker crust and Splenda instead of sugar and it was heavenly! Sadly, I ate the entire pie myself, but with much less guilt because of my modifications ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
The taste is superb, and I got a lot of compliments. The directions could be a bit better. My second pie I learned to puree the peaches and water in the blender first, and to stir together the dry ingredients before combining everything in the saucepan. This may be obvious to experts, but I'm not one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This recipe is great as long as you make the following changes (otherwise I found it too sweet): Reduce the sugar to half cup and add 3-4 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice to the mashed peach mixture. I also add 1/2 to 1 cup of mashed peaches because I want to be sure to cover all the fresh peaches completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States