Fresh Peach Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I loved, loved this fresh peach pie! After reading the reviews above I added the 4th Tbsp. of corn starch and omitted the water. I peeled and pitted the two peaches for the glaze and put them in my blender to liquify them. We dropped each peach in boiling water for 30 seconds to loosen the skin on the peaches so they slipped off easily. When the pie was complete we stuck it in the freezer for an hour and then moved to the fridge we were in such a hurry to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This recipe is similar to a fresh peach pie served in a Walnut Creek Ohio restaurant. I actually like this recipe better. Per Sylvia D's recommendation, I added the extra Tablespoon of corn starch but didn't add the extra sugar. Fantastic! The pie would be very similar to the Ohio restaurant if the extra sugar were added, but not the extra corn starch. I will make this again. Top with cool whip and it's wonderful, with sweetened whip cream (don't forget the vanilla) it's out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Excellent peach pie recipe. I added an extra tablespoon of corn starch because my peaches were ripe and juicy. I also mashed my 2 cups of peaches using my food processor. I did not purée them. I just pulsed it to get them diced up. I also used cinnamon in place of nutmeg since I am not a nutmeg fan. My pie set up fine and tasted and looked great! Not a crumb leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGIENAP
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I followed the suggestion to use more sugar, less water, and more cornstarch. It set very nicely. I would cut back on the nutmeg next time; it was still delicious, I am just not used to that flavor in my fresh peach pie. Wonderful with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Very very delicious! A few tips I would like to suggest. When pitting the peaches to use for the sauce I would cut out a little of the dark center area surrounding the pit. It would make the sauce a little lighter looking. I used cinnamen instead of nutmeg and used a little lemon juice (approx 1 1/2 tsp.) in the sauce to make it little less sweet and to brighten the flavor. You could increase the cornstarch by a table spoon to make it a little thicker for slicing. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great pie! The filling set perfectly. For those having trouble with "runny" filling, perhaps a modification in the process will help. Try this...mash/puree 2 peaches (peeled, pitted) in a food processor or blender. 1 peach should equal 1 cup of sliced peach. Combine sugar, pureed peaches, butter in saucepan and begin cooking. In a separate bowl, whisk together the water and cornstarch until well blended without lumps. While stirring the peaches over med heat, slowly pour the water cornstarch mixture into the cooking peaches. I ended up with quite a bit of glaze, but had no problem using it all! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
it was good but it have too much glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
The pie to make when you have beautiful fresh peaches. Would have given it 5-stars, but the peaches in the glaze should have been peeled, and the mixture blended with an immersion blender to make it clear and smooth. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Love the fresh peach taste, ease of prep, beautiful to look at. I made some modifications suggested in previous reviews and it set up perfectly in only a few hours. It's also LOW CAL for a dessert. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Excellent. Definitely only use 1 c. Sugar I'd your peaches are ripe. You don't want to take away from their sweetness. Delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraColorado

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States