Fresh Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
One word: exquisite. I made this recipe to serve 12, and the only changes I made were to use a large spanish onion instead of 6 medium shallots, and a little garlic salt. Once pureed this soup has a beautiful colour & texture; velvety and delicate. I absolutely loved this, and would make it again any time. Frozen peas worked just fine for me. A little bit of whipping cream & a sprig of mint garnished this very nicely. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Really liked this! I made a few alterations: Sauteed a clove of garlic in a bit of olive oil, used half of a small yellow onion (what I had), salt, pepper, and rosemary, (a dash of crushed red pepper (tiny tiny sprinkle), and used vegetable stock instead of water and it was fabulous! Great flavor and smooth velvety texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
SO delicious! I made it with frozen peas, and added a little garlic in with the shallots. Also used chicken broth for more flavor. I had an enormous bowl of it for lunch along with buttered and toasted French bread. Amazing. Thanks so much, Lizz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Served this at a French themed dinner club gathering of 12 people. Added garlic, fresh rosemary, a bit of dry sherry and garlic salt. I also used frozen peas with vege broth, but only just heated the mixture before blending it. I did not strain it as I like a some texture. Finished with a sprinkling of chardonnay/garlic flavored sea salt, a dolop of sour cream and a sprig of rosemary as garnish. It was a hit getting rave reviews from everyone. It maintained its fresh look and flavor, I think in part because I did not cook for it any length of time. Everyone was asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I followed the recipe but use frozen peas, half and half, and vegetable broth (made from "Better Than Bouillon" in the vegetable flavor). Excellent, just excellent. It's sweet all by itself, it's the most beautiful shade of green (not chartreuse), it's filling and has fiber, and it's not heavy calories. I love this soup and am going to make it a permanent part of my own personal "dinner spinner". ---Fabienne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
this was great! I changed a few things about it though: used a regular onion, chopped up and cooked with 1 garlic clove (mashed). I also used vegetable stock instead of the water and left a few peas "unmashed" to give it a homey feeling. I don't think it's enough for 4 servings though, more like 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I didn't have enough peas so I added broccoli, used low sodium chicken broth, green onions, garlic, salt and pepper...My husband loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made this with frozen peas (16 ounces is a little more than three cups)and red onion instead of shallots. I'm making it for a friend as a surprise when she returns from her honeymoon. Peas are her favorite vegetable. I don't even like peas myself and I thought this soup was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This was so easy and really tasty. It was great as is and then I made some adjustments and liked it even better. I used low sodium chicken broth in place of water, added two cloves of garlic and as onion in place of the shallot that I didn't have. I also added a handful of spinach. While this was boiling I sliced two carrots into circles and boiled them for a few minutes in the microwave until they softened. I added half of the boiled carrots to the peas when they were finished boiling and then I used my immersion mixer to blend it all up well. I did not strain it (I like my pea soup thicker). Finally, after pouring the soup into a bowl, I added the rest of the boiled carrot circles and a dollop of sour cream. This was so fast, easy and tasty that I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I make a soup for every celebration dinner, and my family no longer wants any other soup from my vast recipebox! I do substitute vegetable and chicken broth for water and fat free half and half for whipping cream. The most time consuming part of this soup is the straining -- I do find my Foley Food Mill makes the job easier and well worth the hassle for this velvety soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States