Fresh Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
One word: exquisite. I made this recipe to serve 12, and the only changes I made were to use a large spanish onion instead of 6 medium shallots, and a little garlic salt. Once pureed this soup has a beautiful colour & texture; velvety and delicate. I absolutely loved this, and would make it again any time. Frozen peas worked just fine for me. A little bit of whipping cream & a sprig of mint garnished this very nicely. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This was fantastic! I made a few small changes. I used frozen peas instead of fresh, vegetable broth instead of water and sour cream instead of whipping cream. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Corcoran

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Really liked this! I made a few alterations: Sauteed a clove of garlic in a bit of olive oil, used half of a small yellow onion (what I had), salt, pepper, and rosemary, (a dash of crushed red pepper (tiny tiny sprinkle), and used vegetable stock instead of water and it was fabulous! Great flavor and smooth velvety texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Served this at a French themed dinner club gathering of 12 people. Added garlic, fresh rosemary, a bit of dry sherry and garlic salt. I also used frozen peas with vege broth, but only just heated the mixture before blending it. I did not strain it as I like a some texture. Finished with a sprinkling of chardonnay/garlic flavored sea salt, a dolop of sour cream and a sprig of rosemary as garnish. It was a hit getting rave reviews from everyone. It maintained its fresh look and flavor, I think in part because I did not cook for it any length of time. Everyone was asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
this was great! I changed a few things about it though: used a regular onion, chopped up and cooked with 1 garlic clove (mashed). I also used vegetable stock instead of the water and left a few peas "unmashed" to give it a homey feeling. I don't think it's enough for 4 servings though, more like 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I added 3-4 spinach leaves for color and half a potato cubed for thickness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I followed the recipe but use frozen peas, half and half, and vegetable broth (made from "Better Than Bouillon" in the vegetable flavor). Excellent, just excellent. It's sweet all by itself, it's the most beautiful shade of green (not chartreuse), it's filling and has fiber, and it's not heavy calories. I love this soup and am going to make it a permanent part of my own personal "dinner spinner". ---Fabienne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Very good soup! What a nice treat since it is change from the usual split pea soup. I did use frozen peas & chicken broth, a stick blender and I did not strain it. We really enjoyed it. Next time I will make a double batch (or more) because it was no where near enough for my family of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I absolutely love fresh peas, either eaten raw as soon as I pick them or put in boiling water for about 30 seconds. Just long enough for the butter to melt. For this recipe I left them in the boiling water for 1 min and then used a submersion blender to puree them, added 1 tb of butter along with the heavy cream. When I first came across this recipe I thought, how nice a fresh pea recipe that does not call for mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This has become a mainstay this late spring, and will probably remain one, as long as the farmers' market has fresh peas for sale. I add a half teaspoon of white pepper and a scant teaspoon of salt while the peas are simmering and use my immersion blender to (more or less) puree. Straining seems tedious, pointless, and counterproductive. So easy and tasty! And good hot or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States