Fresh Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This is one of the best soup I've ever made. So simple and fresh. Must be made with fresh or frozen peas from the garden or farmers market. I recommend at least doubling it. My thanks to the person who submitted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This was fantastic! I made a few small changes. I used frozen peas instead of fresh, vegetable broth instead of water and sour cream instead of whipping cream. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hgrether

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I wasn't wowed by the taste, it was just OK. I used boullion garlic powder and doubled the butter to make this taste a little richer. If you don't have a love affair with peas, pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I liked this recipe; however, I used vegetable stock instead of water for more flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Really liked this! I made a few alterations: Sauteed a clove of garlic in a bit of olive oil, used half of a small yellow onion (what I had), salt, pepper, and rosemary, (a dash of crushed red pepper (tiny tiny sprinkle), and used vegetable stock instead of water and it was fabulous! Great flavor and smooth velvety texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
One word: exquisite. I made this recipe to serve 12, and the only changes I made were to use a large spanish onion instead of 6 medium shallots, and a little garlic salt. Once pureed this soup has a beautiful colour & texture; velvety and delicate. I absolutely loved this, and would make it again any time. Frozen peas worked just fine for me. A little bit of whipping cream & a sprig of mint garnished this very nicely. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Served this at a French themed dinner club gathering of 12 people. Added garlic, fresh rosemary, a bit of dry sherry and garlic salt. I also used frozen peas with vege broth, but only just heated the mixture before blending it. I did not strain it as I like a some texture. Finished with a sprinkling of chardonnay/garlic flavored sea salt, a dolop of sour cream and a sprig of rosemary as garnish. It was a hit getting rave reviews from everyone. It maintained its fresh look and flavor, I think in part because I did not cook for it any length of time. Everyone was asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by unix_girl
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
good flavor and texture. mine didn't turn out 'velvety', but maybe my strainer isn't fine enough. nice way to use my overgrown snow peas from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unix_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
SO delicious! I made it with frozen peas, and added a little garlic in with the shallots. Also used chicken broth for more flavor. I had an enormous bowl of it for lunch along with buttered and toasted French bread. Amazing. Thanks so much, Lizz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I followed the recipe but use frozen peas, half and half, and vegetable broth (made from "Better Than Bouillon" in the vegetable flavor). Excellent, just excellent. It's sweet all by itself, it's the most beautiful shade of green (not chartreuse), it's filling and has fiber, and it's not heavy calories. I love this soup and am going to make it a permanent part of my own personal "dinner spinner". ---Fabienne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States