Fresh Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was outstanding. We didn't strain the soup. We used chicken broth instead of water. We picked the peas ourselves, so they couldn't have been any fresher. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very tasty, I did not strain and didn't mind the "chew" of the soup. When blending, I needed to add quite a bit of veggie broth to thin it out. I topped it with some low fat plain yogurt which added a nice zing. This came together really quickly. I believe the quality of the peas I used (fresh from farmers market) most influenced the fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
very tastey soup! i loved it! its such an easy recipe...i agree to make a double batch, youre going to want more!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katedid83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kane, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I make a soup for every celebration dinner, and my family no longer wants any other soup from my vast recipebox! I do substitute vegetable and chicken broth for water and fat free half and half for whipping cream. The most time consuming part of this soup is the straining -- I do find my Foley Food Mill makes the job easier and well worth the hassle for this velvety soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I didn't have enough peas so I added broccoli, used low sodium chicken broth, green onions, garlic, salt and pepper...My husband loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This was so easy and really tasty. It was great as is and then I made some adjustments and liked it even better. I used low sodium chicken broth in place of water, added two cloves of garlic and as onion in place of the shallot that I didn't have. I also added a handful of spinach. While this was boiling I sliced two carrots into circles and boiled them for a few minutes in the microwave until they softened. I added half of the boiled carrots to the peas when they were finished boiling and then I used my immersion mixer to blend it all up well. I did not strain it (I like my pea soup thicker). Finally, after pouring the soup into a bowl, I added the rest of the boiled carrot circles and a dollop of sour cream. This was so fast, easy and tasty that I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made this with frozen peas (16 ounces is a little more than three cups)and red onion instead of shallots. I'm making it for a friend as a surprise when she returns from her honeymoon. Peas are her favorite vegetable. I don't even like peas myself and I thought this soup was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
this was great! I changed a few things about it though: used a regular onion, chopped up and cooked with 1 garlic clove (mashed). I also used vegetable stock instead of the water and left a few peas "unmashed" to give it a homey feeling. I don't think it's enough for 4 servings though, more like 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I don't care what kind of soup you make, the golden rule is to flavour your soup with stock, not with just plain old water. This is bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I added 3-4 spinach leaves for color and half a potato cubed for thickness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States