Fresh Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Made this for sunday dinner to go with roast chicken, and it was thoroughly enjoyed by all even my brother in law who does not like peas. I used a leek as I wanted a mild onion taste. I didn't strain it as didn't have time, Next time I make I will make sure that I do. The next time I want to add some carrots and potatoes to it as well to see how that turns out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This was delicious! I used 4 cups of frozen peas and chicken stock instead of water. I let the liquid boil off almost to the point that there was none left, then I processed it. Came out thick and velvety!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Wonderful flavor for something so simple! Like other reviewers I used frozen peas, low sodium chicken broth and topped with a bit of fat free sour cream. Cannot wait to make again and serve with a grilled cheese sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Excellent! I used frozen petite peas and followed the recipe as written. I think chicken broth would be nice for this, but straight up salt and pepper really highlight the sweet pea flavor. I whipped my cream slightly and used it as a garnish with a few baby peas. Cute. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was good, but I don't know that I'll fix it again. Like others, I used frozen peas. The kids gave it a 4, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Love this soup. It taste so fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
OMG! I'm shocked at how good this was. So much more flavorful and fresh pea tasting than using dried peas. I used chicken broth and a half bag of frozen peas and a half bag of frozen peas and carrots 'cause that's what I had on hand. I also used a yellow onion instead of shallots and I sauteed them in about a teaspoon of bacon drippings. Didn't want to drag out the food processor, so I used my stick blender. It worked like a charm. I will NEVER make pea soup any other way than this! Absolutely outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn32789

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was outstanding. We didn't strain the soup. We used chicken broth instead of water. We picked the peas ourselves, so they couldn't have been any fresher. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very tasty, I did not strain and didn't mind the "chew" of the soup. When blending, I needed to add quite a bit of veggie broth to thin it out. I topped it with some low fat plain yogurt which added a nice zing. This came together really quickly. I believe the quality of the peas I used (fresh from farmers market) most influenced the fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
very tastey soup! i loved it! its such an easy recipe...i agree to make a double batch, youre going to want more!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katedid83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kane, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States