Fresh Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Dang this was good! You'd think it would be bland because of the simple ingredients, but it's not at all. Like other reviewers, I used chicken broth in place of water, as well as frozen peas. I thawed the peas first and blended with an immersion blender. It came out rich and flavorful even without any cream, and made a delicious and hearty lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This has become a mainstay this late spring, and will probably remain one, as long as the farmers' market has fresh peas for sale. I add a half teaspoon of white pepper and a scant teaspoon of salt while the peas are simmering and use my immersion blender to (more or less) puree. Straining seems tedious, pointless, and counterproductive. So easy and tasty! And good hot or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Excellent. Added Penzey's Mural of Flavor and minced sauteed garlic for flavor. Substituted sour cream--delicious hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pastor Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mills River, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Very fresh and healthy. My wife (who doesn't eat regular pea soup out of a can) was very impressed. We are trying to eat better, and this soup, with a nice loaf of garlic bread was a delightful supper. Instead of the blender, I used my wand mixer right in the cooking pot for a real fine puree. I used sour cream as mentioned by others instead of the whipping cream. I also used a little white wine and vegetable stock, not water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lclaurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornish, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I LOVE this! I usually make split pea soup but this is really good! I did use vegetable broth instead of water and I did not puree, but left it natural. I'll bet it would be good cold in the summer. I'll let you know! I drizzled each serving with cream in a fancy swirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I made a double batch. A little bland. I prepared it before reading the reviews. In retrospect, I should have added additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I added a small piece from a vegetable bouillon cube to the peas while they were cooking and fried them a bit before adding the water, just as I'd make if not to cream it. Poured into the blender and when returned to the pot 3 tablespoons of light whipping cream - many great reviews about it! Smooth soup to an Autumn night here at the South Hemisphere. 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysKaKa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I absolutely love fresh peas, either eaten raw as soon as I pick them or put in boiling water for about 30 seconds. Just long enough for the butter to melt. For this recipe I left them in the boiling water for 1 min and then used a submersion blender to puree them, added 1 tb of butter along with the heavy cream. When I first came across this recipe I thought, how nice a fresh pea recipe that does not call for mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
WOW this soup is awesome!!! I had to use what was available so I used immature garlic stalks instead of shallots (very similar) and homemade chicken broth because I had some left over. I am confident it would taste just as great just the way it was written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made this for my Mother and she loved it! This is her rating because I do not care for pea soup however, if I HAD to drink pea soup this is the one I would chose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States