Fresh Papaya Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Papaya does not need pectin.it contains natural pectin already.i made this recipe with only the other 3 ingredients: papaya , orange juice and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
this jam came out great i have a papaya tree in my back yard and this was my first time making any kind of jam it was so easy the only change i made was i diddnt have pectin so i substituted arrowroot starch it worked like a charm i tried the plate in the freezer trick and it instantly jelled up we tried the papaya as it is in fruit form but my husband diddnt care for it this way so i first made a papaya bread wich came out great and then i tried this jam im so glad i did now i can make several different variations and try new flavors !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Larrabee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I do a lot of canning. I mashed the papaya up by pulsing the food processor after I peeled the fruit. Also, I have Amish cookbooks and they recommend using jello in place of pectin; it's cheaper and adds a pretty color. If you do this, be aware that the color jello you use will affect the results. Use 'orange' for this recipe, not lime. If you use the jello, for 5 cups of sugar, I'd recommend taking about 1/2 cup out because the jello has sugar in it and it will be a little too sweet otherwise. Leave the OJ out. Also, I noticed some c/o the jam being a little runny. The Amish book I have recommends freezing fruit before use. Has something to do with the pectin levels (better consistency). Also, for you that have papaya trees and are running over in fruit, my suggestion is "have you ever made homemade wine"? I started making it due to an over abundance of fruit from when I lived in the Apple Valley in Washington. I gave the recipe 4 stars. It was ok, but if I would have lessened the sugar, I think it would have been better (I did not lessen to 4.5 cups & jello has sugar). The flavor was ok, but not as good as I'd like; however, the person on here that suggested habanero peppers..not a bad idea. Kicking it up a notch in that way would be an added punch to regular pepper jelly; if you haven't tried it, do. Nice holiday gift with cream cheese & crackers. Habanero are hot, so if you don't like it really hot try serrano &/or jalapeno. Serrano have really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Just finished making Jam !, have loads of papayas from the Florida keys ,,,,made with lime juice, jars are fill and are hot and I can hardly wait to cool !,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this jam 3 days ago. It was very easy and the only change I made was that I squeezed juice from half a lemon to balance out the sweetness. It tasted wonderful but like the previous comments it didn't set up firm enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
yummy! The only change i made (because we like sweet and spicy) was to add 2 habeneros. It came out so good. I had got a bunch of papayas from the local food bank and had no idea what to do with them. By happy chance, my grandmother had just given me a bunch of old canning jars. so now i have several batches of Delicious Habenero-Papaya jam and a few batches of regular will be made up tomorrow. It didn't take too long, because i had 3 little helpers to mash the papayas for me. This recipe is definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauchula, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Very nice flavour, but didn't set too well. I keep the jars in the fridge so this helps keep the jam firm enough. Great as an icecream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is a great jam. However, it can be improved upon. I like my jam with a little more zestiness. So, instead of using orange juice I have used lilikoi juice (which is a Hawaiian passionfruit). That is fabulous. People keep telling me to eat papaya with lime juice, so I just tried that - substituting the orange juice with lime juice. Also great. Both make the jam 'pop'. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Excellent taste very easy to make. i am a novice at this jelly thing and i found it so easy to make. i changed it up alittle bit though, i added some pineapple puree to it and about 10 whole habaneros with excellent results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was yummy. Mine did not set quite as well as i would have liked, however it was my first time making Jam. I used only one package of pectin per another users review, maybe that is where, I went wrong? I don't know. It was still a yummy and a fun way to use a bunch of papayas that my neighbor gave me from her tree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fresh Berry Jam

See the simple way to turn fresh berries into delicious jam.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States