Fresh Mushroom Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Low and slow. I recommend cooking this slowly and on low after you put in your rice for another 20 minutes perhaps. The taste was wonderful. Next time I will experiment with other mushroom varieties. Perhaps using an exotic dried mix of mushrooms. Delicious. Made this as a side to some baked Haddock. My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This recipe is delicious and super easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great dish! ...but let's make this easier! We had fresh mushrooms to use up and I found this recipe. I cooked the onion, peppers & mushrooms as directed, but added 1 Tablespoon of minced garlic (mine was from a jar) from other suggestions. Then, I stirred in the same measurements of water and rice... BUT, I used YELLOW RICE ("Par Excellence with Saffron" from BJs'). I just knew it wouldn't need: salt, pepper, garlic powder, bullion, broth or ANYTHING ELSE! I also knew that I was taking a chance & warned Wifey that she would be a 'test subject' Happy to report that the experiment was successful! The YELLOW RICE filled out ALL of the other flavors beautifully & took out all of the guesswork! This was our main dish and we both loved it! This will be a regular veggie-night dish, for us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I thought this pilaf was tasty! It turned out a little creamy, hubby really liked it. I would definitely make it again. Best to use a good rice. I used chicken broth instead of water and bullion cubes. I also use an orange pepper instead of green. This will be my go to rice dish. Quick, easy and deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I tried the recipe and and loved it! The one thing I did different that was instead of water i used chicken broth. It was great! I told everyone how good and easy it was! BeeHam46
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I used fresh garlic and omitted the peppers. Definitely going to make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
this was so good! i chose this recipe to help use up some mushrooms and leftover brown rice that were sitting in the fridge.. i sauteed the veggies and then added the cooked brown rice and beef (instead of chicken) bouillon granules to the pot.. then salt and peppered to taste.. ty so much for this super simple yet tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I love mushrooms, so, I thought I would get this a try. Honestly I wasn't expecting a wow flavor because it didn't appear to have too much seasoning in the recipe. Boy, was I wrong! The flavor was very good and had a wonderful mushroom flavor that infused the rice. I didn't have any chicken bouillon, so, I used part chicken broth and part water. I also used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. The only thing I would do differently is add something a little fresh at the end like some fresh parsley or a sprinkle of green onions. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I loved this rice. I used 8oz baby portabella mushrooms, a small onion, celery (in lieu of green pepper) and 3 cloves garlic. I also added about a quarter cup of grated parmesan at the end. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I like the combination of ingredients although the rice turned out a little on the bland side. But goes great with a savory dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States