Fresh Mushroom Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This turned out to be an unexpected surprise, much better and certainly more memorable, than I thought it would be. However, I bumped up the flavor by using fresh garlic instead of garlic powder, using shitake mushrooms, chicken base rather than bouillon, and a good glug of white wine. I skipped the salt, which wasn’t necessary because of the bouillon or chicken base. This was excellent, actually. And elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was very good rice, but then I love mushrooms! I wish I would have seen the line at the end of the recipe that I could have added garlic to it because that would have been a nice touch. I followed the recipe except to use the red, yellow, and orange peppers rather than the green pepper called for. Thank you for a nice side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
We loved this! I omitted the green pepper (didn't have any), and added garlic in with the mushroom/onion mixture. Great combo of flavors...I will be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe! I added some chopped celery and red bell pepper as well as the mushrooms and green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I too enjoyed this recipe greatly!: although I have substituted celery for the bell pepper every time I've made this pilaf. The instruction to add garlic seemed unnecessary as garlic powder is already called for, I did however omit the powder in favour of one clove of fresh. This is a great accompaniment to many a meal!! Thanks for this versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
my boyfriend absolutely loved this! I didn't have green pepper and followed others' advice and added some garlic. This is a nice change from plain rice and as my boyfriend said "a definite keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
We loved the mushrooms, but the rice itself was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I tried the recipe and and loved it! The one thing I did different that was instead of water i used chicken broth. It was great! I told everyone how good and easy it was! BeeHam46
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I used fresh garlic and omitted the peppers. Definitely going to make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
this was so good! i chose this recipe to help use up some mushrooms and leftover brown rice that were sitting in the fridge.. i sauteed the veggies and then added the cooked brown rice and beef (instead of chicken) bouillon granules to the pot.. then salt and peppered to taste.. ty so much for this super simple yet tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States