Fresh Mushroom Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This turned out to be an unexpected surprise, much better and certainly more memorable, than I thought it would be. However, I bumped up the flavor by using fresh garlic instead of garlic powder, using shitake mushrooms, chicken base rather than bouillon, and a good glug of white wine. I skipped the salt, which wasn’t necessary because of the bouillon or chicken base. This was excellent, actually. And elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was very good rice, but then I love mushrooms! I wish I would have seen the line at the end of the recipe that I could have added garlic to it because that would have been a nice touch. I followed the recipe except to use the red, yellow, and orange peppers rather than the green pepper called for. Thank you for a nice side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
We loved this! I omitted the green pepper (didn't have any), and added garlic in with the mushroom/onion mixture. Great combo of flavors...I will be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great dish! ...but let's make this easier! We had fresh mushrooms to use up and I found this recipe. I cooked the onion, peppers & mushrooms as directed, but added 1 Tablespoon of minced garlic (mine was from a jar) from other suggestions. Then, I stirred in the same measurements of water and rice... BUT, I used YELLOW RICE ("Par Excellence with Saffron" from BJs'). I just knew it wouldn't need: salt, pepper, garlic powder, bullion, broth or ANYTHING ELSE! I also knew that I was taking a chance & warned Wifey that she would be a 'test subject' Happy to report that the experiment was successful! The YELLOW RICE filled out ALL of the other flavors beautifully & took out all of the guesswork! This was our main dish and we both loved it! This will be a regular veggie-night dish, for us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe! I added some chopped celery and red bell pepper as well as the mushrooms and green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
my boyfriend absolutely loved this! I didn't have green pepper and followed others' advice and added some garlic. This is a nice change from plain rice and as my boyfriend said "a definite keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I tried the recipe and and loved it! The one thing I did different that was instead of water i used chicken broth. It was great! I told everyone how good and easy it was! BeeHam46
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I too enjoyed this recipe greatly!: although I have substituted celery for the bell pepper every time I've made this pilaf. The instruction to add garlic seemed unnecessary as garlic powder is already called for, I did however omit the powder in favour of one clove of fresh. This is a great accompaniment to many a meal!! Thanks for this versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Low and slow. I recommend cooking this slowly and on low after you put in your rice for another 20 minutes perhaps. The taste was wonderful. Next time I will experiment with other mushroom varieties. Perhaps using an exotic dried mix of mushrooms. Delicious. Made this as a side to some baked Haddock. My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I used fresh garlic and omitted the peppers. Definitely going to make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States