Fresh Mint and Cilantro Melon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I was taking this to a BBQ. The honeydew melon that I bought was flavorless and when I first combined the ingredients it didn't taste good. I refrigerated it anyway and took it to the BBQ. It got rave reviews. Tastes like a Mojito. The melon marinated and soaked up all of the flavors from the lime juice, cilantro and mint. The melon was not flavorless after all. A big hit. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeitfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I was sceptical about this combintion. I was afraid the herbs would be odd simply chopped (chucnks of cilantro and mint). IT IS AWESOME!!!! I just started a low fat/calorie diet and am trying to incorporate more fresh fruit. I cannot say enough about this recipe - it is excellent. My husband even liked it and he is pretty old fashioned (meat and potatos kind of man). He said it tasted exotic. The only things I changed were I used Equal instead of sugar and I used papaya in addition to the honeydew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Delicious, fresh, and raw! We omitted sugar and added fresh pineapple. We ate it right away, so I can't wait to see what it tastes like after 2 hours in the refrigerator. I'll be using the lime, cilantro, mint dressing on fruit when we need a refreshing change from plain fruit and also for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Very refreshing! I added strawberries and didn't change a thing otherwise. I made it for a bbq my husband and I were having and we didn't have leftovers. Made it again for brunch with the same result. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danasweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Sounded funky, but awesome combo, added cantaloupe and strawberries for my big family. we loved it, thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I served this at a brunch and everyone loved it. I did omit the cilantro since I do not care for it. Very refreshing on a warm day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I omitted the sugar and replaced it with some pineapple as someone else suggested and it was fantastic! It is incredibly light and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I was so nervous about this after I started making it. Like another reviewer wrote it seemed off for some reason. I ended up adding strawberrys and grapes to it and did a little prayer it would turn out okay. So after sitting in the refridge a few hours I tried it. It turned out sooo yummy! Tastes like a Mojito for sure!!! The flavors really compliment each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Yummy! Even though I changed this recipe to fit what I had on hand in the house, the basic flavor was a nice balance and refreshing. I had only watermelon, so decided to try that and added about 1 cup of strawberry slices as others suggested. Trying to cut back on carbs....I used Splenda rather than sugar, and let in marinate for at least 4 hours. Both my husband and I liked it very much and will certainly make it again with other combinations of melon and tropical fruit. I added the zest of the lime I used as well, and really feel that is what makes this recipe pop....Fresh LIME! Yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Delicious and refreshing. I would love to switch it up and make it with watermelon or canteloupe. I also think adding just a pinch of salt would make all of the flavors "pop" just a bit more. I will try that next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States