Fresh Herbed Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I made this last night with some fresh halibut, and it turned out great. I did NOT use the full cup of olive oil, as that seemed quite excessive. I maybe used about 1/4 cup which still was probably too much. I am thinking that is what makes this recipe 911 calories per serving. I cut up a 1.3 lb halibut fillet into 6 pieces and baked them in the oven at 375 degrees (F) for about 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This was appealing to me as it is unencumbered by lots of fatty, rich extras like cheese, mayo, sauces, etc. I baked this at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes, only because I am more comfortable with this method. I used fresh dill, freshly ground pepper and a sprinkle of paprika for color. You can't go wrong with this flavor combination of lemon, dill, garlic and olive oil, which for any fish is always a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I chose this halibut recipe over others because it didn't smother the pricey fish with ingredients. I used halibut steaks rather than fillets. It was simple and flavorful. I'll make again with slightly less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I used frozen halibut and cooked it according to the package instructions, 375 degrees for 8-12 minutes. I juiced two lemons, used two cloves of fresh garlic to replace the powder, dried dill weed (didn't have fresh) and I added a teaspoon of melted butter plus about two tablespoons of olive oil. I placed all of the seasoning in a bowl and whisked it together. I then coated the fish with the seasoning, placed it in a greased baking dish, and poored the remaining seasoning over it. I served the fish with steamed broccoli and roasted garlic couscous. My two year old and husband gobbled it up. Quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was awesome! My family loved it. I used only a little bit of oil, definately not 1 cup!(just enough to cover the fish)I also added 1 fresh garlic clove, minced, and extra dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I thought the olive oil was a bit excessive. I used just enough oil to coat the baking sheet and my halibut steak. For a little variation, I put my halibut steak on some sauteed onions & fennel root. I also added a touch of fennel leaves & ground fennel seeds for a bit more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made this with sea salt, canola oil, dill, cilantro, lemon juice, and thinly sliced swiss cheese on top. I then baked it for 15 minutes at 375, and it turned out amazing. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I would give it a five because it was AMAZING, but not as written. 1 cup of olive oil?? That's GOT to be a mis print, because that is just crazy. Used about 3 tbsps of olive oil, a little extra dill, and fresh garlic instead of powder, got amazing fish from costco, not frozen so that made it better, but it was SO SO awesome. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Excellent recipe. Mild flavor that doesn't overpower the fish. Great for halibut and other mild flavored fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Dawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I do not like fish. This was my first halibut recipe ever. It was DELICIOUS and SOOOOOOOOOOOO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States