Fresh Green Beans, Fennel, and Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I'm always looking for great healthy side dishes. This is a winner! Boiling the vegetables softens them nicely . I use very little olive oil to save calories . Think stir fry. Low calorie , great flavor, high nutrients, and even my teenager likes it. Tip: don't tell them it's fennel until they've eaten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea O.
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Looks just like thr picture! Love having something different to serve my family to keep eating healthy interesting. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea O.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
These were good. I did not have fennel so I would bet they are better with that ingredient. I am going to try this recipe again when I have some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I'm new to fennel. I was disappointed when it smelled like licorice because I don't care for licorice. But after it all cooked together, WOW, what a nice surprise! I didn't add the cheese because I'm lactose intolerant, but it didn't even need it. I leave out a star because I wish the recipe had given more information and specifics about chopping the fennel. I went too far up the stalk and it got a bit stringy. With that said, it was totally worth it. I ate over half of the batch for lunch by myself. I will definitely make this again and maybe even to impress someone for a nice dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Very tasty especially for my first recipet with fennel bulb, but I would use less oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetadharmony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was my first recipe with fennel. The taste mellowed out a lot with cooking & made this vegetable dish delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was very good. My husband who usually likes only the basic of ingredients in a food even enjoyed them. The only problem I had was the amount of olive oil seemed to be a bit much so next time I will cut it down. But other than that good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
There is not many recipes for cooked fennel but I love this vegetable and enjoyed this recipe since it keeps the lovely flavour of the fennel intact. Everybody at the family gathering loved it and came for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damaris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I added ground turkey seasoned with salt, pepper, and sauteed with garlic. Then I added this all on top of a bed of penne. The resulting olive oil sauce was very good so I wouldn't decrease the amount of olive oil suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Used less olive oil and left out the feta cheese. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States