Fresh Grapefruit Juice Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I made this for myself this morning, so only one serving. I used grapefruit in place of the strawberries and used vanilla yogurt. It complimented the Maple Bacon Muffins really well and gave me a reason to drink my fruits this morning. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Wow - is this ever good! I love fresh grapefruit so I had to give this a try. I cut the recipe in half and froze my strawberries cutting back on the ice a bit. I also used vanilla yogurt vs. strawberry-banana. This was very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This smoothie was so refreshing!! The fresh grapefruit juice was the key. Instead of honey I used agave (about 2 tbls). I used plain yogurt and frozen strawberries instead of the sugar laced strawberry banana yogurt. And with every smoothie I added 1/2 scoop of soy protein powder and 1 tbls. of ground flaxseed. The consistancy of this was not thick but still very good tasting! I will put this into my "smoothie's" file for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
For some reason this picture didn't turn out very good, I apologize for that. However, this smoothie is amazing!!! The grapefruit gives a special touch, so if you are planning on making this you really will have to make sure you use fresh grapefruit juice otherwise would be unfair even to review this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I really didn't follow the recipe, but it hasn't been rated so here it goes. The proportions are good. I just subbed vanilla yogurt, a nectarine for a banana, and used a bunch of frozen strawberries. I know it is cheating, but it is especially good with a splash of vanilla creamer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I didn't like the combination of grapefruit juice and yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Awesome! I sliced and juiced an entire grapefruit, added frozen strawberries and blueberries (didn't have a banana on hand), a generous dollop of plain nonfat yogurt, and a drizzle of agave nectar. Left out the ice. Turned out really juicy and refreshing. Will use ice next time for a "smoothier" texture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I didn't have any bananas, but it was super yum with fresh grapefruit juice, strawberry kefir, and frozen strawberries!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Pretty good but with a name like "fresh grapefruit juice smoothie", I expected something that tasted a little more like grapefruit. Really this is a strawberry bannan smoothie with a little grapefruit. Worth making again with a little tweaking to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scout

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This smoothie is delicious! I followed the recipe, save for using vanilla yogurt. One reviewer complained that the grapefruit flavor didn't come through enough using the strawberry banana yogurt, so vanilla must be what makes the difference, as I could taste it very well. One other small adjustment I made was to use all frozen fruit instead of ice. I find ice dilutes a smoothie. When I have overripe bananas, I peel them, put in a freezer bag and freeze. Convenient for smoothies, and an overripe banana usually makes additional sweetener unneccessary. Because of the grapefruit juice in this one though, I used the sweetener. Two large grapefruits produces the 1 1/3 cups of juice, but next time I'll just peel and section the fruit rather than juicing. I think fresh is the only way to go with this one. One other thing: this recipe makes 4 cups, which is not 2 servings IF you consider an 8 oz. glass one serving. Having said that, it was so good that I downed 2 cups! My kids liked it too (tastes like candy, Mom!) Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States