Fresh Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I was looking for something like the chewy ginger-molasses cookies at Starbucks, and this recipe does the trick. Thank you! By the way, fresh ginger grates much easier if you freeze it first, and then use a microplane grater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Excellent cookies. Even my mother liked them and she hates ginger cookies. I used McCormick ground ginger instead of fresh grated ginger and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
LOVED them!!! I didnt want to wait the hour for the mixture in the fridge, so I threw it in the freezer for about 10 minutes. It seemed to work fine to harden the recipe enough to make the dough balls. Next time, I may cook them for longer in hopes that they will turn out cruncy rather than soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Best giger cookies that I have ever had and I've made quite a few. I followed the recipe completely including the chill time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Personally, I loved these cookies. I thought they were really good. I am rating it a four based upon the all-around response I received from family, some of whom thought there was too much ginger. Perhaps decreasing the amount of ginger and a slight increase in molasses would do the trick next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
i was a bit doubtful at first, it seemed like a lot of ginger compared to other recipes, but these were excellent. i'm very impressed and will definitely use this recipe a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This recipe makes flavorful, perfectly chewy cookies. These were exactly what I was looking for to go with a little hot chocolate or mulled wine on a cold evening. I also added a teaspoon each of cinnamon and nutmeg to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I love these cookies! I have made this recipe about 20 times, so I thought I would share my tips. 1) I use dry ginger, but otherwise follow the recipe to the letter. 2) Don't add all the flour mixture at once. Sometimes it doesn't need it all and the dough will be too dry. 3) The dough, when completed, should be uniform in colour and texture. You should be able to pick it up with your hands and form it into a large ball without any cracks. It should also not stick to your fingers. 4) Chilling the dough is paramount. If the dough is not chilled enough, then the cookies will be too flat, won't form a crispy crust, and won't have the awesome cracks on the top. 5) I use a 1/8 cup measuring thingy to make all my dough balls exactly the same size (crazy?). They cook for exactly 15 minutes at 350 in my oven. The middle of each cookie will be raised, but will fall when it cools. 6)I prefer them a couple days old, but my G/F likes then best right from the oven. I want to add some more detail on the look of the cookie. Using a 1/8 cup ball, and cooking for 15 minutes, I get a cookie that is just over 1cm thick. Every cookie has deep cracks (deeper than the picture). I sprinkle sugar on them when they come out of the oven too. If you cookie is too flat and lacks cracks, your dough was either too wet, or you didn't chill the dough enough. If the cookie has a rounded, puffy top, and the cookie tastes dry, then the dough had too much flour added to it. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
very tasty...especially after they sat for a few days. I also put vanilla icing on top...it definitely helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassy Sutzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This is a favorite now! The sweet and spice, and that tiny hot kick at the end of a taste are trademarks of this cookie. Simple enough that my sons (9 and 16 years old) have made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States