Fresh Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Amazing! Out of all the Christmas cookies we baked these were everyone's favorite! I wouldn't change anything with the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These are so yummy! I didn't have molasses, so I subbed high quality maple syrup and some brown sugar & it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These were so wonderful. I made them for a Holiday Cookie Exchange last year and everyone loved them (those who liked ginger). The cookie stayed moist for many days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dodsonje

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
These cookies are wonderful. I made them exactly as directed. They are crispy around the edges and soft and gooey in the middle. Every one who's tasted them, loves them. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Fantastic cookies. My wife doesn't even like ginger cookies. These were very gingery with a nice chewy texture and they looked pretty too :) I added two tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of allspice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Awesome! I added 1 tsp of cinnamon & nutmeg + 1/2 tsp cloves & allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIXIE0019

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
i added extra ginger, didn't use fresh only had powdered & mine were fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VannieNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
not enough ginger flavor. make sure to buy a bigger piece of ginger and use good butter. some weird flavor, possibly from the Anchor butter I'd bought in bulk at the deli counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious! The fresh ginger wasn't as hard to grate as I had anticipated. Using fresh ginger vs ground ginger adds A LOT more flavor. I won't go back to using ground ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I love these cookies! I have made this recipe about 20 times, so I thought I would share my tips. 1) I use dry ginger, but otherwise follow the recipe to the letter. 2) Don't add all the flour mixture at once. Sometimes it doesn't need it all and the dough will be too dry. 3) The dough, when completed, should be uniform in colour and texture. You should be able to pick it up with your hands and form it into a large ball without any cracks. It should also not stick to your fingers. 4) Chilling the dough is paramount. If the dough is not chilled enough, then the cookies will be too flat, won't form a crispy crust, and won't have the awesome cracks on the top. 5) I use a 1/8 cup measuring thingy to make all my dough balls exactly the same size (crazy?). They cook for exactly 15 minutes at 350 in my oven. The middle of each cookie will be raised, but will fall when it cools. 6)I prefer them a couple days old, but my G/F likes then best right from the oven. I want to add some more detail on the look of the cookie. Using a 1/8 cup ball, and cooking for 15 minutes, I get a cookie that is just over 1cm thick. Every cookie has deep cracks (deeper than the picture). I sprinkle sugar on them when they come out of the oven too. If you cookie is too flat and lacks cracks, your dough was either too wet, or you didn't chill the dough enough. If the cookie has a rounded, puffy top, and the cookie tastes dry, then the dough had too much flour added to it. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States