Fresh Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Excellent! A little less molassas next time, maybe, but a very good and super-easy cookie. Resisted the temptation to flatten the raw cookies with a fork and am glad I did. Cookies flattened nicely on their own, creating attractive little cracked-tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
These were a huge hit with my husband and kids. They were soft and chewy and oh-so-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I baked these for 'goodie' day at the office. I got rave reviews for them. I up the ginger a little bit, about half again and watch them closely to not over bake so that they stay soft and chewy. I've tried them with fresh ginger and with powdered. I've found it well worth the effort to grate the ginger as this makes a much tastier cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
These cookies are fantastic! I replaced one of the cups of flour with whole wheat flour and they turned out great. Because I live at a high altitude I adjusted the baking time to 11-12 minutes. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
These are delicious. I like a recipe that works the first time without changing a thing. These lasted one night. The fresh ginger is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These cookies are great! the fresh ginger is wonderful and they are my new favorite cookies! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I am required to make these for family every Christmas season! I found this year that rolling them in white sparkling sugar gives them a beautiful look and actually keeps them from spreading too much while they bake. LOVE these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These cookies have an amazing simple, fresh flavour. They bake up to be just the right consistency, slightly soft with mildly crispy edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These cookies have become a regular in our house. I always freeze some when I make them, and they keep very well this way. Freezing is the only way I can keep some around, they are eaten as quickly as I make them otherwise. I have stopped going to the effort of grinding fresh ginger for them and use powdered instead, but otherwise follow the recipe as written. I chill the dough well and do not flatten the balls. I dip the tops in turbano sugar before baking. They are chewy, flavorful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Really tasty. Just a tip...do NOT refrigerate the dough overnight. Not sure why, but when I did it made the dough not rise. The second batch I followed the suggestion of putting it in the freezer for just a few minutes instead. That seemed to work out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States