Fresh Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly as written and they came out perfect. On the second batch I baked them for 12 minutes to get them even softer. The only thing I noticed was how much the flavors mellowed after a day. To get that just out of the oven taste I just warmed them in a low oven for a few minutes. They also make a wonderful substitution for graham crackers for a cookie crust. I use just enough melted butter to keep the crumbs together. I have also used them in my peach crisp recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Delicious! Great, fresh ginger flavor. They are sort of small (they don't spread out while baking). Very moist and soft while the bottoms were sort of crispy. We will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Ehhh, these are very boring ginger cookies. The ones with cloves, nutmeg, and/or cinnamon (Ina Garten's ultimate ginger cookies, minus the crystallized ginger, if you're not a big ginger fan) are great! These are ok cookies in general, but not good ginger cookies. Texture and other aspects of the cookie are good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I doubled the recipe. The dough was marvelous -- to die for. Let me share my comments on the process before I tell you about the final product: * I did some control trays (ie per recipe) and a few experimentals (using ideas suggested by others in their reviews). One of the suggestions was to sprinkle water over the cookies before putting in the oven. This resulted in cookies stuck to the tin and thus broken cookies. I wouldn't do this if I were you. * I am not sure what the sugar added at the end (per some suggestions) is supposed to achieve other than adding calories and potential mess when eating. * I baked mine 10 min @ 150 Celsius on a fan oven (which is equiv to the temp suggested in the recipe). 15 minutes would have burnt my cookies to a crisp. * My exterior was beautifully cracked, but I am not sure I have achieved the right hardness on the shell of the cookie. * I am not sure the finished product (or at least 30 minutes out of the oven) is as good as the dough going in. Perhaps the cookies are better the next day??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Instead of rolling the cookies in sugar, I used an old crumbled marzipan dough I had. The almond from the marzipan added a nice flavor with the rest of the cookies.. Will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
These were awesome!! The only things I changed was that I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of white flour, I didn't roll in sugar and I put dough in freezer for about 10 minutes instead of in refrigerator for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Just made these and yum! I used whole wheat flour but that fresh ginger makes ALL the difference so dont use the powdered! I love the Starbucks ginger cookies but I love these more.This will definitely be my GO TO ginger cookie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
In an attempt to make these a little healthier I replaced half the molasses, 1/8th Cup, with 1/8th Cup of Agave, and I didn't roll them in Sugar. They were superb. Next time I'm going to try replacing some of the Butter with Applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very good, stuck to recipe completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Very yummy. A good recipe to make with your kids - my toddler loved shaking the dough balls in the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States