Fresh Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Really delicious, nice chewy texture. Next time I could even add more ginger for a really zingy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blfm94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I was looking for a simple, chewy ginger cookie recipe...AND THIS IS IT! They came out in the perfect round cookie shape, perfect golden-brown colour, neat little cookie cracks, and tasted heavenly. The outside was crunchy, but the insides are wonderfully fluffy and soft. The spicy aftertaste was the cherry on top. I love that the ingredients are simple, but uses fresh grated ginger. As I was making the dough, I was initially worried that it was too wet (so I added a few tablespoons of flour), but then let the chilling do the work. Afterwards, it was completely fine. Keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This recipe was a huge hit even without rolling them in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't have molasses so I melted 1/4 cup brown sugar with some water in the microwave. Came out perfectly! I also coated the dough with course brown sugar which gave an extra crunch. My one disappointment is that the cookies were more cake-like than the picture indicated, but the flavour was good. I'll add some cinnamon and/or allspice to my next batch. The recipe made 40 cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grand Anse, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Excellent ginger cookies, just like my Mom used to make when I was small . . . lots of good memories!! I used half molasses and half honey and I love them this way! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These were amazing! I followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't have molasses so I substituted some brown sugar and a little maple syrup. On the sugar coating outside, I used a coarse grain sugar mixed with a pinch of cinnamon, nutmeg, and dried orange peel. It didn't take nearly a cup of sugar to coat the cookies. Highly recommended recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. The fresh ginger makes the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious! I didn't have molasses, so I used honey. I also zested some orange peels into the sugar used for the rolling part. A great combination. I need to improve on the cooking time though--little gooey. But, that's not the recipe but my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These cookies were easy to make and were the perfect texture (crispy and chewy). They're great crowd pleasers. A couple people said they're just like the Starbucks Ginger Molasses cookies. I only had salted butter, so I cut out the salt. I'd like a bit more heat, so next time I'll add a bit more ginger. They also look prettier if you roll them in coarser sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Here is the thing about these, you will have to make a double batch! I made the first batch just like the recipe and was excited but wanted MORE GINGER! I was making them for the holiday party and wanted them to really stand out. I used the 2 TBL of fresh ginger but also added 1 tsp of dried ginger that comes from a bottle. Also, to add more pep, I added some freshly ground nutmeg to the outside sugar that they are rolled in before baking. There was no stopping them from there! Gone, gone, gone! Repeat: Just they way they are deserves 5 stars, but don't be stingy with the ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltkdvmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States