Fresh Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Just made these and yum! I used whole wheat flour but that fresh ginger makes ALL the difference so dont use the powdered! I love the Starbucks ginger cookies but I love these more.This will definitely be my GO TO ginger cookie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
In an attempt to make these a little healthier I replaced half the molasses, 1/8th Cup, with 1/8th Cup of Agave, and I didn't roll them in Sugar. They were superb. Next time I'm going to try replacing some of the Butter with Applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very good, stuck to recipe completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Very yummy. A good recipe to make with your kids - my toddler loved shaking the dough balls in the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Really delicious, nice chewy texture. Next time I could even add more ginger for a really zingy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Laurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I was looking for a simple, chewy ginger cookie recipe...AND THIS IS IT! They came out in the perfect round cookie shape, perfect golden-brown colour, neat little cookie cracks, and tasted heavenly. The outside was crunchy, but the insides are wonderfully fluffy and soft. The spicy aftertaste was the cherry on top. I love that the ingredients are simple, but uses fresh grated ginger. As I was making the dough, I was initially worried that it was too wet (so I added a few tablespoons of flour), but then let the chilling do the work. Afterwards, it was completely fine. Keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This recipe was a huge hit even without rolling them in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't have molasses so I melted 1/4 cup brown sugar with some water in the microwave. Came out perfectly! I also coated the dough with course brown sugar which gave an extra crunch. My one disappointment is that the cookies were more cake-like than the picture indicated, but the flavour was good. I'll add some cinnamon and/or allspice to my next batch. The recipe made 40 cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grand Anse, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Excellent ginger cookies, just like my Mom used to make when I was small . . . lots of good memories!! I used half molasses and half honey and I love them this way! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These were amazing! I followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't have molasses so I substituted some brown sugar and a little maple syrup. On the sugar coating outside, I used a coarse grain sugar mixed with a pinch of cinnamon, nutmeg, and dried orange peel. It didn't take nearly a cup of sugar to coat the cookies. Highly recommended recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States