Fresh Fruit with Poppy Seed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This fruit salad is delicious. I ate it all myself in a few days. The dressing is great and doesn't need any additional sugar. I made use less banana next time because it has such a strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Very disappointed considering how high this salad rates with others. Needs to be sweeter so definitely add some honey. Also, I like very hot things but the cayenne, although a small amount, needs to really be cut down or left out altogether. Your mouth shouldn't be burning after eating a fruit salad. The dressing was a pretty color and maybe just allow people to people put it on the fruit if they desire. Otherwise too many flavors going on here. I have a big bowl of unappealing fruit now that no one will touch. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
After searching among many fruit salad recipes, I decided to make this one for a picnic. Everyone thought it was delicious! It was hard to find a recipe with no added refined sugar or fat. The only change I made was to the dressing after putting it in the food processor. I strained it to remove the raspberry seeds. Excellent and will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
This was delicious - and got rave reviews from my Dad, who is a true gourmet. If anything I would watch the amount of dressing, or better yet, add some more fruit! Went well with the saltier seasame chicken and fried rice I served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This is different, I thought it needed some additional sweetness. Next time I will add some sugar or 1/4 cup of maple syrup. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I'm not a fruit salad fan at all so I didn't even taste this. But hubby loves fruit salad and he did like it, thus 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I thought this was absolutely excellent. Blackberries also work well if you don't have raspberries. Also, I do recommend adding about 1/2 cup sugar or so to the sauce mix. I will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
The dressing is great - very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
yummy! i used seasonal fruit consisting of white grapes, blueberries, mangoes, strawberries & of course bananas. i didn't have raspberries for the sauce, so w/o thinking it through, i used marionberries. i did not like having the seeds from these along w/ the poppy seeds. that's not a good combo in a fruit salad. if i make this again, i will definitely use raspberries. i also could taste the salt, which i didn't care for. i omitted the cayenne, b/c i was feeding other peoples toddlers, & didn't feel they would care for it. one last thing, as others suggested, my strawberries were a slight bit sour, so i sprinkled sugar on them after washing & chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I love how the dressing is made of fruit itself and how versatile it is, you can use whatever fruit is handy. But I don't like the cayenne pepper! I thought it sounded strange, but I used it anyways. It turns out I don't like it. I like spicy food, but I don't like spicy fruit! I might make this again, but without the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States