Fresh Fruit with Poppy Seed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Well I didn't have a banana or poppy seeds What I did have was marshmallow cream. I put about three large spoonfuls of it in the blender and let it blend until no little specks of marshmallow showed. It had an almost sherbet taste to it. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Don't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I have now made this twice and it was a big hit both times. I did change it up a little- I used strawberries, blueberries kiwi and mango for my fruit. I left out the salt and cayenne pepper and added a little sugar. the lime juice and vinegar give it just a nice little twang. i used about 1/3 of a bag of frozen raspberries in the sauce. It was delicious! I will definitely keep this recipe and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I love how the dressing is made of fruit itself and how versatile it is, you can use whatever fruit is handy. But I don't like the cayenne pepper! I thought it sounded strange, but I used it anyways. It turns out I don't like it. I like spicy food, but I don't like spicy fruit! I might make this again, but without the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is very good. I didn't follow the recipe exactly however. Due to everyone's liking, we did blueberries, strawberries, grapes and kiwi for the fruit. Then for the dressing I didn't have raspberries so I used some frozen fruit (pineapple, mango, peach). I also added some Almond extract, flax seeds and about 1 Tablespoon of honey. Just enough to take the citrus pop down a level, but not make it sweet. I loved it and so did my daughter and husband. We have found a new fruit salad just in time for summer. I have a feeling we will be making this weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was very good I love the dressing I did raspberry balsmic vinegar because that is what I had. And I used Honey instead of cayenne pepper. Everyone at my breakfast club love it. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I liked this recipe a lot! I made it for a picnic, and it was enjoyed by everyone. for the dressing, I used blackberries instead of raspberries; used only half a banana; used Simply Orange brand juice with mango; used red wine vinegar; and omitted the poppy seeds (they were expensive). I used what fruits were available at the store (blackberries, red grapes, apple, banana, kiwi, plum, and strawberries). it was great! it definitely had a kick to it, which I didn't mind, but if you are sensitive to spiciness, you may want to decrease the amount of cayenne pepper. in my opinion, it was sweet enough as is and doesn't need any added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I think I was just expecting way too much out of this. I was looking for something sweeter and fruitier. Served the dressing on the side so people could add as much as they wanted, and wound up throwing most of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Refreshing! I added a TBS of olive oil and chopped up a jalapeno and it was the perfect salad with Mexican food. Muy bueno!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin' 2nite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I used freshly ground black pepper instead of cayenne and it gave the fruit a nice kick; guests wondered how I got that punch in a fruit dish. I only used 1 Tbs. of poppy seeds. That seemed like enough to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States