Fresh Fruit Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amanda*~
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
delicious, recipe works everytime! if you are out of orange juice for the glaze you can also use lemon juice, still comes out great! perfect anytime of the year dessert! thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
It depends where you are from whether you call this a flan or tart. Where I come from we call this a flan & a delicious one at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This recipe came out great! For an easier glaze you can also just heat up some apple jelly in the microwave and drizzle it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by auggrrl
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My family and I loved this recipe (I made it for Christmas dinner dessert!). It was time consuming to cut up all the fruit, but the glaze was terrific and the only alteration I would make would be to increase the batch of the cream cheese mixture, a little thin for my liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Made it for brunch and everyone liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Fantastic! but not flan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I have no intention of rating this wonderful dessert on whether it is called a flan or a tart - it depends what country you come from. Easy and light even with a layer of cream cheese. Always very well received, especially in the summer. Thanks for an excellent submission
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
No matter what the name - the basic recipe is very flexible - making it easy to swap out or switch out ingredients or parts like the crust. Despite a rather long list of ingredients you can make a respectable dessert quickly with substitutions. I've tried it as written, with a graham cracker crust from the store (quick but crust can get soggy), with different fruit choices, adding lemon juice and zest to the filling instead of vanilla, and with jam or jelly and water microwaved a few minutes for a glaze. Every time I make the dessert it's never quite the same as it depends on time available and the ingredients on hand. It is very good summer dessert when fresh fruit is abundant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Whatever you want to call it, it's delicious! I followed the recipe exactly (other than the glaze and fruit choices)and placed in an 11 1/2 inch tart pan. The crust turned out thick, but soft and yummy. I didn't have orange juice so I just subbed raspberry lemonade and omitted lemon juice. Slightly pink, but delish. Oh, and I only used 4 kiwi and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I made this for my daughters birthday. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out amazing. This was very easy not time consuming and definately will become a family favourite. Thank-you so much, a truly wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States