Fresh Fruit Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
First, if you're going to make any kind of fruit "pizza," clear your schedule. Start to finish, including waiting for things to cool, this took 3.5 hours. We didn't like the crust at all. I was suspicious to see that it called for 2 C of butter + oil in proportion to only 2.25 C of flour. It was too "short" and had a rather bland flavor, NOT like a sugar cookie at all. Next time, I'll probably just make half of a sugar cookie recipe. Next came the cream cheese layer - it was good and had just the right depth on a 15" pizza stone's worth of crust. Next came the fruit, which looked GORGEOUS but took forever to prepare. Then the BEST part of the recipe - the glaze, which was delectable! I used a very small silicone basting brush to glaze the fruit and it worked much better than a pastry brush. All in all, I'll make it again, but with the above alteration to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by auggrrl
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My family and I loved this recipe (I made it for Christmas dinner dessert!). It was time consuming to cut up all the fruit, but the glaze was terrific and the only alteration I would make would be to increase the batch of the cream cheese mixture, a little thin for my liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This recipe came out great! For an easier glaze you can also just heat up some apple jelly in the microwave and drizzle it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This ia a delicious fruit tart. Not flan! Flan is a crustless, baked custard. I believe many more cooks would try this recipe if the name would be changed to: Fresh Fruit Tart. (It doesn't need to be made in a tart pan to be a tart.}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by palmtrees
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is the BEST recipe! I love the crust, it doesn't get soggy. The combination of flavors is perfect. This is the best fresh fruit recipe, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This is a great recipe as is. I needed a quick recipe so I eliminated the cream cheese part, used only strawberries (2 fresh cartons, sliced) and used the prepared strawberry glaze from the grocery store instead of the glaze. It turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
The whole family enjoyed this recipes. They were surprised I made the whole thing, even the crust. Found that I needed more cream cheese than it called for, so I made it 1 1/2 times the recipe which worked great. I used aluminium foil pizza pans, as I didn't have a round pan and I found this recipes to be more impressive in a round than a square pan. The crust was baked on a single pan but had to use three to give it more stability when putting on the fruit and the glaze. It's a definite make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
No matter what the name - the basic recipe is very flexible - making it easy to swap out or switch out ingredients or parts like the crust. Despite a rather long list of ingredients you can make a respectable dessert quickly with substitutions. I've tried it as written, with a graham cracker crust from the store (quick but crust can get soggy), with different fruit choices, adding lemon juice and zest to the filling instead of vanilla, and with jam or jelly and water microwaved a few minutes for a glaze. Every time I make the dessert it's never quite the same as it depends on time available and the ingredients on hand. It is very good summer dessert when fresh fruit is abundant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
delicious, recipe works everytime! if you are out of orange juice for the glaze you can also use lemon juice, still comes out great! perfect anytime of the year dessert! thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
It depends where you are from whether you call this a flan or tart. Where I come from we call this a flan & a delicious one at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States