Fresh Fruit Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
No matter what the name - the basic recipe is very flexible - making it easy to swap out or switch out ingredients or parts like the crust. Despite a rather long list of ingredients you can make a respectable dessert quickly with substitutions. I've tried it as written, with a graham cracker crust from the store (quick but crust can get soggy), with different fruit choices, adding lemon juice and zest to the filling instead of vanilla, and with jam or jelly and water microwaved a few minutes for a glaze. Every time I make the dessert it's never quite the same as it depends on time available and the ingredients on hand. It is very good summer dessert when fresh fruit is abundant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I have no intention of rating this wonderful dessert on whether it is called a flan or a tart - it depends what country you come from. Easy and light even with a layer of cream cheese. Always very well received, especially in the summer. Thanks for an excellent submission
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Fantastic! but not flan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amanda*~
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
delicious, recipe works everytime! if you are out of orange juice for the glaze you can also use lemon juice, still comes out great! perfect anytime of the year dessert! thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
It depends where you are from whether you call this a flan or tart. Where I come from we call this a flan & a delicious one at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This ia a delicious fruit tart. Not flan! Flan is a crustless, baked custard. I believe many more cooks would try this recipe if the name would be changed to: Fresh Fruit Tart. (It doesn't need to be made in a tart pan to be a tart.}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
The reason I gave this only 4 stars and not 5 is because this is a fruit pizza and not a flan. Other than that it is fantastic. Love the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
The whole family enjoyed this recipes. They were surprised I made the whole thing, even the crust. Found that I needed more cream cheese than it called for, so I made it 1 1/2 times the recipe which worked great. I used aluminium foil pizza pans, as I didn't have a round pan and I found this recipes to be more impressive in a round than a square pan. The crust was baked on a single pan but had to use three to give it more stability when putting on the fruit and the glaze. It's a definite make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This is a great recipe as is. I needed a quick recipe so I eliminated the cream cheese part, used only strawberries (2 fresh cartons, sliced) and used the prepared strawberry glaze from the grocery store instead of the glaze. It turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
my husband made this and it was the first time he has made a flan it was wonderful,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States