Fresh Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
This easy-to-make cobbler has a great flavor that really compliments fresh fruit. My husband said its "5 out of 5 stars" ... the way he remembers his mom used to make cobbler. I was looking for a cobbler or crumble recipe for fresh strawberries and blueberries, but I didn't want to cook the fruit or add more sugar to the berries - just put it in the oven. This was perfect. I used a 9x13 glass dish and doubled the batter to cover all the berries. The topping has a springy cake-like texture and nice flavor. I always toss fruit with Minute (plain) tapioca to thicken the juices so they are not runny and found that one heaping Tbs was just right. The strawberries and blueberries (about 3 to 1 in quantity - maybe 5 cups total) had a jam-like flavor. Great! Thanks Victor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Yum! I've made this a few times and love it! Besides for being easy and good, even without any modifications, it's a lo-cal dessert. This time, I used 1/2 splenda and 1/2 sugar and didn't taste a difference. I used mostly peaches with a few frozen blueberries thrown in. It will definitely become a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2000
Has become a favorite dessert around the house. I serve it warm, right out of the oven, with ice cream usually cookies and cream and it is delicious! Very easy to make, and everyone loves it. I use less sugar than what the recipe asks for 'cause I add some brown sugar and cinnamon to the apples to give them more flavor. I have, so far, only made the cobbler with fresh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Quite good. The cruste was nice and golden, and not too sweet. It complimented the fruit nicely. Thought there was just a tad bit too much though, the crust fruit ratio was off. I added some cinamon to my fruit, and it was awesome. Suggest doing that to add a little more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
i'm 18, and am a budding baker! i must say that this recipe is not only easy to make but also incredibly delicious when eaten warm! i find that sprinkling sugar and a bit of cinnamon onto the fruit before adding the dough doesn't hurt. oh, and instead of peaches i used apples and mangoes, which was quite refreshing given their contrasting flavors:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adam Geller
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
I really like this recipe. It is easy to prepare. I have used combinations of fresh peaches, strawberries, raspberries, and cherries. Skim milk and Egg Beaters work fine. I have always had to cook it longer than 30 minutes though. For me, it has been closer to an hour. I like to take it out when it is golden brown and then let it sit for 5-10 minutes so the fruit juices solidify just a bit. No matter what though, this has always been a big hit when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Very good. Only had Peaches, Pears, Apple and Frozen blueberries on hand. Used higher percentage of peaches. Added a little cinnamon and sugar to fruit and a little cinnamon to topping and turned out awesome. Tastes great warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Downsville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
An awesome easy recipe. My first attempt came out even better than I thought it would. I almost ate the whole pan myself !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
Very easy, I used fresh peaches and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I was initially attracted to the simplicity of this recipe along with the high marks it received. This cobbler--actually more berry cake recipe--is delightfully simple, but the crust is unfortunately bland if made exactly as stated. Personally, I find adding a little bit of cinnamon and nutmeg perk up the flavor of the cobbler crust, and I've made it more than once with those additions and happily eaten up every last morsel. But, in it's original form, I feel the recipe is a bit lacking and try to rate my reviews based on the recipe as stated versus the recipe as I've tweaked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superkarynfragilistic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States