Fresh Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was delicious!!...and so quick and easy to make!! The first one I did the fruit measure of 2/3 fresh plums and 1/3 fresh apples. The texture came out perfect and golden in color. This is now one of my favorites for quick-easy-and delicious. I will definitely be making this more and with some of my other favorite fruit combos! Try it...you'll love it!! :)>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d_cookinggirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
LOVED this cobbler. I only used plums and peaches, but it was deeelicious. I served it warm at a barbeque and everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I used fresh peaches and left the skins on, just sliced them thinly. The skins gave the fruit a beautiful dark pink color that bubbled up from under the topping. Also threw in a pear. I tossed the fruit in 1 tbsp. lemon juice and about 1 tbsp. corn starch. For the topping I used only 1/2 c. sugar. I blobbed the topping on top of the fruit (like cobblestones), spread it a little to cover most of the fruit surface, and sprinkled cinnamon on top before putting in the oven. A little sugar with the cinnamon would have been nice, but it turned out delicious anyway, and was devoured at a potluck. Giving this a 4 because I made changes, but it's a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFRach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is a really delicious, simple cobbler recipe, which uses much less butter/oil than other cobblers. I was serving the hot dessert in 45 minutes. I used only fresh plums, about half the fruit quantity given in the recipe. I sprinkled the plums with a little cinnamon and sugar. Next time I will use only 1/2 cup sugar in the batter, cause it turned out a tad too sweet for my taste. I suggest everyone try making it with whole wheat flour. It makes the dessert even tastier! Thanks for the recipe! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kata

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I used the fruit i had on hand that was about to turn, so it ended up being a mix of peaches, plums, cherries, and blueberries. I added a bit of cinnamon and sugar to the fruit mixture, and 1 tsp of cinnamon to the top as well. Absolutely delicious served with vanilla ice cream. A great way to use up leftover fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodyajohnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I was initially attracted to the simplicity of this recipe along with the high marks it received. This cobbler--actually more berry cake recipe--is delightfully simple, but the crust is unfortunately bland if made exactly as stated. Personally, I find adding a little bit of cinnamon and nutmeg perk up the flavor of the cobbler crust, and I've made it more than once with those additions and happily eaten up every last morsel. But, in it's original form, I feel the recipe is a bit lacking and try to rate my reviews based on the recipe as stated versus the recipe as I've tweaked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superkarynfragilistic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
My husband claims this is the best cobbler he has ever had! ...I slightly modified the recipe by using 1 cup of sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla. I also used tart organic cherries, which needed a little something-something extra, plus blueberries, apples, and nectarines. It was a great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This was my first time making peach cobbler, sorry to say it was quite disappointing. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and some allspice in the fruit mixture which was tasty. The topping just tasted like bland bread. Still looking for a good peach cobbler recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very tasty! The batter did not turn out exactly as I'd hoped, but it's very tasty nonetheless. I did use frozen fruit in this, but it was fruit I had already tested the sweetness of prior to freezing so I knew that I didn't need to add sugar to the fruit filling. (Photo coming soon.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Outstanding! I've made this twice. Both times with rave reviews. I just used fresh pears and blueberries the first time and added fresh peaches the second time. They were both great. No need to double the batter. Even though it doesn't completely cover the fruit, it is not needed. This is really a light, fresh dessert. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States