Fresh Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I use this batter topping for all sorts of fruit cobblers. It even tastes good if you use canola oil instead of butter. I usually use fresh cranberries and apples in a pie plate, and then top it with the batter. It tastes so good when it is served warm and topped with a bit of vanilla ice cream. Another variation I've done (which amazingly has turned out well) is apples, strawberries, and topped of with ripe banana slices. I know it sounds weird, but people really liked it. This topping is very nice, feel free to experiment with your own fruit combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Couldn't stop eating it! Used fresh plums, pears, and frozen raspberries. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Best one I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great base recipe and I love the emphasis on fresh fruit! I used pears, strawberries, and just 2 apples for mine and the only other modifications I made were adding a dash of nutmeg, about 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and a squeeze of lemon juice to fruit. I also had a longer cooking time of about 45 minutes. Will keep using this recipe, lovely batter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This seemed too easy to be any good but was I surprised! I used a quart of mixed tree fruit (peaches, nectarines, apricots and plums) with 1/4 cup sugar mixed in and increased the vanilla to 1 tsp because I love a stronger flavor. It turned out golden brown on top and a perfect balance of fruit and cake. By day 2 the juices had been absorbed by the cake and it lost it's texture but it still tasted fine. I used black plums and yellow and white peaches and nectarines, so the finished product was also beautiful with a lovely mixture of yellow, pink and red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
It is an easy recipe, and I enjoyed making it. I added cinnamon and sugar directly to the fruit. My whole crumble (made up of a collection of fruit: apples, peaches, yellow plums, blueberries, raspberries) was tart. Not sure how to remedy that exactly. Kids, therefore, didn't really eat it, but the adults loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Very tasty. I made this with Pears, Apples and Blueberries (becuase that's what I had!) and used Splenda (I reduced it to 1/2 C and it was still plenty sweet). I had to double the dough as it wasn't nearly enough for 2 pears, 1 large apple and about a cup of blueberries. Next time I think I will add Oats to see if its more like a "crumble".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KirstenNB
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was my second cobbler to ever make and it was great! Used fresh pears and blueberries. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KirstenNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was delicious!!...and so quick and easy to make!! The first one I did the fruit measure of 2/3 fresh plums and 1/3 fresh apples. The texture came out perfect and golden in color. This is now one of my favorites for quick-easy-and delicious. I will definitely be making this more and with some of my other favorite fruit combos! Try it...you'll love it!! :)>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d_cookinggirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
LOVED this cobbler. I only used plums and peaches, but it was deeelicious. I served it warm at a barbeque and everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States