Fresh Fig Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Near my home I came across a fig tree on what once was a market garden area. There were so many figs both fallen and on this tree I brought them home and then went on the net to see what we could do with them. This recipe was just so lovely we returned for more figs over several weeks. Even cut up and froze pieces for later. Such a moist and flavoursome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve's
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Great cake for using fresh figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I made this cake 2 days ago for a bunch of fig fanatics. Everyone went wild over it. It is not overly sweet and a very pleasant ending to a meal. I will definitley be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
Absolutely wonderful! It's great in the morning with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
this cake is very good. ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was a big hit at my house. My husband had seconds and he isn't a big fan of figs. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. I served the topped the cake with the filling as i served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
An excellent way to use fresh figs. No matter what time I make it, this cake is not around long enough to see the next sunrise. I think the variable juiciness of fresh figs may give different results each time, so you have to be flexible when making it. I leave out the water in the fig topping and use a little more lemon juice, sometimes some zest. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This cake is scone-like and delicious. I've made it with both yellow-skinned, brown centered figs and green skinned, red-centered figs and its equaly good. (green ones are more mellow but the yellow has nice sharp figgy flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALEYANA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
wonderfully moist; added pumpkin pie spice, splenda/sugar blend, 50/50smart balance, extra figs; decorated top with flower shaped cut fig; best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalamazoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by knitten1
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
When I made this recipe, I used slightly more figs than called for, substituted one vanilla bean for the extract and baked it in a Bundt pan for about 40 minutes. I dusted the outside with powdered sugar before serving, and the cake was gone within a day! This is a great recipe, especially if you prefer a lightly sweetened cake. The texture was light and the fresh figs were the star of the show! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States